SRX Returns to Nashville Fairgrounds Speedway

IndyCar champion Josef Newgarden will make his SRX Series debut this weekend


hero image for SRX Returns to Nashville Fairgrounds Speedway

For the fourth stop of the 2022 SRX season, the team returns to Nashville Fairgrounds on Saturday, July 9. Josef Newgarden joins the field as a 13th entry joining Tony Stewart, Paul Tracy, Ryan Hunter-Reay, Bobby Labonte, Ryan Newman, Marco Andretti, Michael Waltrip, Greg Biffle, Tony Kanaan, Helio Castroneves and local racer Cole Williams. The race will be broadcast on live CBS from 8 p.m. – 10 p.m. ET and streamed on Paramount+.

IndyCar champion Josef Newgarden will make his SRX Series debut this weekend in front of his home crowd as the series competes at the Nashville Fairgrounds. Newgarden will pilot a 13th car for the race with Twisted Tea as the primary partner.

This week’s local ringer is Cole Williams who won the Nashville Fairgrounds fan vote to secure his seat in the fourth race of the 2022 SRX season. Williams is a two-time track champion at the Nashville Fairgrounds.

Following his win at Stafford Motor Speedway, Ryan Newman continues to lead the SRX Series point standings with three races remining in the 2022 season. Newman finished third in the season opener at Five Flags Speedway and fourth at South Boston Speedway. Tony Stewart sits second with Bobby Labonte in third.

Announced in July 2020, the Superstar Racing Experience (SRX) Series was founded by NASCAR Hall of Fame Driver Tony Stewart, NASCAR Hall of Fame Crew Chief Ray Evernham, George Pyne and Sandy Montag. The series made its debut on June 12, 2021, airing on CBS Primetime. Tony Stewart won the inaugural series championship. The series has seen a plethora of racing talent behind the wheel including Stewart, Bobby Labonte, Helio Castroneves, Ernie Francis Jr., Bill Elliott, Chase Elliott, Marco Andretti, Tony Kanaan, Hailie Deegan, Greg Biffle, Doug Colby, and more. The second season kicks off on June 18, 2022.