Upcoming Events on

RATV white
Full Schedule

Kyle Busch Wins in SRX Debut at Pulaski County

Kyle Busch became the 10th different winner in Camping World SRX Series history, and the fourth driver to win on debut in the series.


hero image for Kyle Busch Wins in SRX Debut at Pulaski County

Kyle Busch can add “Camping World SRX Series winner” to his long list of racing achievements, and he only needed one race to do it.

Busch claimed the victory in round three of the 2023 season, taking the win at Pulaski County Motorsports Park (VA).

“It’s fun. This is just a great atmosphere and environment to just be around,” said Busch in victory lane on the ESPN broadcast. “It’s really cool, there are some great race car drivers and great personalities, too. I love being able to race, you know? I’d race more if I could, but there’s only so much you can get in and so much you can do.”

On lap 56, Brad Keselowski spun from the lead after contact with Kyle Busch entering turn one. Busch inherited the top spot as a result. Busch led the rest of the way to take the victory.

“I got a good run off of [turn] four, and I really wasn’t ready to pass him yet for the lead, but I got a good run on him and got a good launch. I was alongside of him, right-front to left-rear. He arced it out and came down, and I was there.

“It’s hard in these things. The vision’s not great in these mirrors and everything else, I get it. You’ve also got to be aggressive in that same stance and hold your ground and take those spots when you can get them.”

Clint Bowyer finished second, followed by Tony Stewart, Keselowski and Ryan Newman.

With the win, Kyle Busch became the fourth driver to win an SRX race in their debut. He is also the 10th different winner in SRX history, and the sixth different winner in the last six races for the series dating back to the 2022 season.

A multi-car incident ended the night for several drivers with 10 laps to go, including Paul Tracy, Ken Schrader and Josef Newgarden. Tracy and Newgarden battling for a spot in the top five, with Schrader and Hailie Deegan collected as a result.

After the accident, a dejected Schrader said simply, “I'm not running another race with [Paul Tracy]. I'm done.”

Marco Andretti, the defending series champion, entered the night second in Camping World SRX Series points. Andretti finished ninth after an eventful and tumultuous evening. Newman now holds a 21-point advantage over Andretti in the points standings.

Andretti took the win in the first heat race to take some of the sting out of the night, jumping to the lead on the opening lap from the second starting position. Andretti held off a late challenge from Keselowski to take the heat race win, as the two drivers battled side by side and made contact throughout the final three laps. Busch muscled around Keselowski on the final lap to take second in the heat race, with Keselowski finishing third.

Bowyer finished in the top spot for the second heat race, taking the lead from Newman with five laps to go.

-Photo credit: Will Bellamy/Racing America

SRX Racing at Pulaski County Main Event Results

1651Kyle BuschFlorida Panthers100--Running--
21007Clint BowyerGoodyear1000.637Running--
3114Tony StewartBass Pro Shops1001.666Running20
436Brad KeselowskiCamping World1001.852Running18
5839Ryan NewmanSouth Point1002.078Running16
6406Helio CastronevesPurdue University1002.67Running--
7518Bobby LabonteSport Clips Haircuts1003.046Running12
8115Hailie DeeganGood Sam1003.242Running10
921Marco AndrettiCamping World1005.103Running8
1073Paul TracyCaymus Vineyards8911 lapsAccident6
11122Josef NewgardenSouth Point8911 lapsAccident--
12952Ken SchraderFederated Auto Parts8911 lapsAccident2

Heat Race 1 Results

121Marco AndrettiCamping World20--Running12
2551Kyle BuschFlorida Panthers200.306Running--
366Brad KeselowskiCamping World200.329Running10
4318Bobby LabonteSport Clips Haircuts200.953Running9
5414Tony StewartBass Pro Shops201.421Running8
673Paul TracyCaymus Vineyards203.248Running7
712Josef NewgardenSouth Point203.534Running--
81206Helio CastronevesPurdue University203.773Running--
985Hailie DeeganGood Sam203.958Running4
101052Ken SchraderFederated Auto Parts204.412Running3
11939Ryan NewmanSouth Point204.759Running2
121107Clint BowyerGoodyear191 lapMechanical--

Heat Race 2 Results

1107Clint BowyerGoodyear20--Running--
2239Ryan NewmanSouth Point200.515Running11
3352Ken SchraderFederated Auto Parts201.35Running10
4506Helio CastronevesPurdue University201.975Running--
5814Tony StewartBass Pro Shops202.302Running8
645Hailie DeeganGood Sam202.648Running7
773Paul TracyCaymus Vineyards203.629Running6
8106Brad KeselowskiCamping World203.811Running5
9918Bobby LabonteSport Clips Haircuts204.108Running4
10121Marco AndrettiCamping World204.349Running3
111151Kyle BuschFlorida Panthers204.712Running--
1262Josef NewgardenSouth Point205.189Running--
RA Icon


Sign-up for our free NASCAR & Grassroots racing newsletter...