Upcoming Events on

RATV white
Full Schedule

Starting Lineup: NASCAR Cup Series Championship Race at Phoenix

William Byron will start from the pole position in Sunday's NASCAR Cup Series Championship Race at Phoenix Raceway. Byron is seeking his first NASCAR Cup Series championship.


hero image for Starting Lineup: NASCAR Cup Series Championship Race at Phoenix

William Byron will begin Sunday's NASCAR Cup Series Championship Race at Phoenix Raceway with the distinct advantage of the pole position and the No. 1 pit stall that comes along with it. Byron was able to beat Martin Truex Jr. by 0.018 sec. to snag the top starting spot.

In his final NASCAR Cup Series start, Kevin Harvick will roll from the grid in the third position, and he'll be flanked by Byron's Hendrick Motorsports teammate and fellow championship contender Kyle Larson in fourth.

Bubba Wallace, Denny Hamlin, Erik Jones, Ross Chastain, Chris Buescher, and Tyler Reddick will start from inside the top-10 on Sunday as well.

The other two Championship contenders will start from outside the top-10, but they'll still be inside the top-15 when the green flag waves on Sunday. Christopher Bell will start 13th, and Ryan Blaney will be 15th.

NASCAR Cup Series Championship Race Starting Lineup

RowPos.No.DriverTeamMakeLap timeDiffSpeedRound
ROW 1124William ByronHendrick MotorsportsChevrolet27.150--132.5972
219Martin Truex Jr.Joe Gibbs RacingToyota27.1680.018132.5092
ROW 234Kevin HarvickStewart-Haas RacingFord27.1860.036132.4212
45Kyle LarsonHendrick MotorsportsChevrolet27.1910.041132.3972
ROW 3523Bubba Wallace23XI RacingToyota27.2190.069132.2612
611Denny HamlinJoe Gibbs RacingToyota27.2440.094132.1392
ROW 4743Erik JonesLEGACY MOTOR CLUBChevrolet27.3680.218131.5402
81Ross ChastainTrackhouse RacingChevrolet27.3860.236131.4542
ROW 5917Chris BuescherRFK RacingFord27.4580.308131.1092
1045Tyler Reddick23XI RacingToyota27.9570.807128.7692
ROW 61154Ty GibbsJoe Gibbs RacingToyota27.181--132.4451
1241Ryan PreeceStewart-Haas RacingFord27.1820.001132.4411
ROW 71320Christopher BellJoe Gibbs RacingToyota27.2030.022132.3381
1438Todd GillilandFront Row MotorsportsFord27.2050.024132.3291
ROW 81512Ryan BlaneyTeam PenskeFord27.2180.037132.2651
1699Daniel SuarezTrackhouse RacingChevrolet27.2320.051132.1971
ROW 91722Joey LoganoTeam PenskeFord27.2410.060132.1541
188Kyle BuschRichard Childress RacingChevrolet27.2460.065132.1291
ROW 101934Michael McDowellFront Row MotorsportsFord27.2490.068132.1151
209Chase ElliottHendrick MotorsportsChevrolet27.2660.085132.0331
ROW 11213Austin DillonRichard Childress RacingChevrolet27.2750.094131.9891
2242Carson HocevarLEGACY MOTOR CLUBChevrolet27.2800.099131.9651
ROW 122348Alex BowmanHendrick MotorsportsChevrolet27.2950.114131.8921
2447Ricky Stenhouse Jr.JTG Daugherty RacingChevrolet27.3160.135131.7911
ROW 132521Harrison BurtonWood Brothers RacingFord27.4210.240131.2861
2614Chase BriscoeStewart-Haas RacingFord27.4440.263131.1761
ROW 14272Austin CindricTeam PenskeFord27.4460.265131.1671
2810Aric AlmirolaStewart-Haas RacingFord27.4600.279131.1001
ROW 15297Corey LaJoieSpire MotorsportsChevrolet27.5570.376130.6381
3051Ryan NewmanRick Ware RacingFord27.5780.397130.5391
ROW 16316Cole CusterRFK RacingFord27.5820.401130.5201
3216AJ AllmendingerKaulig RacingChevrolet27.5990.418130.4401
ROW 173377Ty DillonSpire MotorsportsChevrolet27.6060.425130.4061
3415JJ YeleyRick Ware RacingFord27.6620.481130.1421
ROW 183531Justin HaleyKaulig RacingChevrolet28.0030.822128.5581
3678BJ McLeodLive Fast MotorsportsChevrolet29.2482.067123.0851

Photo Credit: Jonathan McCoy, Racing America

RA Icon


Sign-up for our free NASCAR & Grassroots racing newsletter...