Upcoming Events on

RATV white
Full Schedule

Points Report: NASCAR Cup Series Championship Race at Phoenix

Ryan Blaney and Team Penske end the 2023 season with the NASCAR Cup Series driver and owner championships.


hero image for Points Report: NASCAR Cup Series Championship Race at Phoenix

After 36 races and a highly-contested 312 laps at Phoenix Raceway, it was Ryan Blaney that hoisted the NASCAR Cup Series championship trophy, the first of his career.

Blaney finished second to race winner Ross Chastain, but finished in second ahead of Kyle Larson in third and William Byron in fourth. Christopher Bell suffered a broken brake rotor early in Sunday's race and was fourth in the championship battle.

Of the drivers not in the championship battle on Sunday, Denny Hamlin finished the season fifth in points, followed by Tyler Reddick, Chris Buescher, Brad Keselowski, Ross Chastain and Bubba Wallace to round out the top 10.

Driver Points Report: NASCAR Cup Series Championship Race at Phoenix

RankDriverVehiclePointsLdrNxtRace WinsStage WinsPlayoff PtsGLStartsTop 5Top 10DNFsPolesRac ePosAttempts
1Ryan Blaney (P)12503500361403681830236
2Kyle Larson (P)55034-114824136151882336
3William Byron (P)245033-216941136152135436
4Christopher Bell (P)205001-34322416-2361019473636
5Denny Hamlin112383-265226183832036141944836
6Tyler Reddick452344-26913926160361016322236
7Chris Buescher172310-272534322113691710536
8Brad Keselowski62302-273380611-136716301536
9Ross Chastain12299-273632511036101441136
10Bubba Wallace232279-275620000036510511036
11Martin Truex Jr.192269-276610363613691733636
12Joey Logano222258-277711138-1361117521836
13Kevin Harvick42241-27941701413661410736
14Kyle Busch82232-280393219-1361017622536
15Michael McDowell342185-2850471270362830936
16Ricky Stenhouse Jr.472168-28671710503629302336
17Chase Elliott9820-42151348021029715301629
18Ty Gibbs #54771-426449000036410502136
19Daniel Suarez99756-427915000036310611136
20Alex Bowman48701-433455000133410421733
21AJ Allmendinger16692-43439105-13647403236
22Aric Almirola10675-43601701003625421336
23Ryan Preece41637-43983801013612511436
24Austin Cindric2626-440911010-13615403536
25Corey LaJoie7603-44322300003623003136
26Justin Haley31593-44421000003616302936
27Erik Jones43578-44571500003617402036
28Todd Gilliland38554-44812400003604403036
29Austin Dillon3545-44909000136171001236
30Chase Briscoe14534-450111000-13648212436
31Harrison Burton21452-45838200003602602636
32Ty Dillon77364-46718800003600602836
33Noah Gragson199-48361650000210060021
34Cody Ware65-497013400007000007
35Jenson Button45-49902000003000003
36Mike Rockenfeller39-4996600003000003
37Travis Pastrana26-50091300001000001
38Brodie Kostecki15-50201100001000001
39Jimmie Johnson12-5023300003003003
40Kimi Raikkonen8-5027400001000001
41Jonathan Davenport1-5034700001001001
42Shane Van Gisbergen(i)0-5035110002120002
43Josh Berry(i)0-503500000101310010
44JJ Yeley(i)150-5035000002601602726
45Riley Herbst(i)0-5035000004021004
46Zane Smith(i)0-5035000008011008
47Chandler Smith(i)0-5035000003001004
48Carson Hocevar(i)420-50350000090030199
49Austin Hill(i)0-5035000005002006
50BJ McLeod(i)780-5035000002300503323
51Josh Bilicki(i)0-503500000100010010
52Cole Custer(i)0-5035000006001006
53Jordan Taylor(i)0-5035000001000001
54Andy Lally(i)0-5035000005001005
55Ryan Newman(i)510-50350000080010348
56Grant Enfinger(i)0-5035000001000001
57Brennan Poole(i)0-5035000007003007
58Conor Daly(i)0-5035000002001002
59Gray Gaulding(i)0-5035000001000001
60Sheldon Creed(i)0-5035000001000001
61John Hunter Nemechek(i)0-5035000001001001
62Anthony Alfredo(i)0-5035000002000002
63Kamui Kobayashi(i)0-5035000001000001
64Matt Crafton(i)0-5035000001001001

For the second consecutive season and the fourth time in the organization's history, Team Penske ended the year as the NASCAR Cup Series owner champion.

"We've had a lot of championships, but the level that we're racing in NASCAR today, I've never seen it before," team owner Roger Penske said following Sunday's race at Phoenix. "My great friend Rick Hendrick, I think he has 15 to 16. We're excited to have four. Long way to go. Back to back shows the strength of our organization.

"For me, personally that is what we're here for. We love the competition, we love the stress, but also we like a day to sit down here like this and say we're champion," he said.

Hendrick Motorsports finished the season second and third in the owner standings, while Joe Gibbs Racing rounded out the top five.

Owner Points Report: NASCAR Cup Series Championship Race at Phoenix

RankOwnerPointsNumberLdrNxtRace WinsStage WinsPlayoff PtsAttempts
1Team Penske50351200361436
2Hendrick Motorsports50345-11482436
3Hendrick Motorsports503324-21694136
4Joe Gibbs Racing500120-3432241636
5Joe Gibbs Racing238311-26522618383236
623XI Racing234445-269139261636
7RFK Racing231017-272534322136
8RFK Racing23026-27338061136
9Trackhouse Racing22991-27363251136
10Hendrick Motorsports22969-2739302236
11Joe Gibbs Racing226919-276627363636
12Team Penske225822-27771113836
13Stewart-Haas Racing22414-27941701436
14Richard Childress Racing22328-28039321936
15Front Row Motorsports218534-28504712736
16JTG Daugherty Racing216847-28671710536
1723XI Racing89923-4136126900036
18Joe Gibbs Racing77154-426412800036
19Trackhouse Racing75699-42791500036
20Hendrick Motorsports74748-4288900036
21Kaulig Racing69216-43435510036
22Stewart-Haas Racing67510-43601701036
23Stewart-Haas Racing63741-43983801036
24Team Penske6262-44091101036
25Kaulig Racing59331-44423300036
26Spire Motorsports5887-4447500036
27Legacy Motor Club57843-44571000036
28Front Row Motorsports54638-44893200036
29Richard Childress Racing5453-4490100036
30Stewart-Haas Racing53414-45011100036
31Wood Brothers Racing45221-45838200036
32Legacy Motor Club38942-46466300036
33Spire Motorsports36477-46712500036
34Rick Ware Racing32215-47134200036
35Rick Ware Racing32251-4713000036
36Live Fast Motorsports25878-47776400036
37Trackhouse Racing9291-49431661003
38Front Row Motorsports8336-495290004
39Kaulig Racing6913-4966140005
40Beard Motorsports5662-4979130006
4123XI Racing3067-5005260002
42Richard Childress Racing15133-5020150001
43Legacy Motor Club1284-502330003
44TMT Racing950-502630002

Photo courtesy Sean Gardner/Getty Images

Racer Jobs 300


Accelerate Your Career In Motorsports With Racer Jobs