Upcoming Events on

RATV white
Full Schedule

Ruggiero, Renfrew Headline Opening Night Winners at New Smyrna

Gio Ruggiero scored his first career World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing Super Late Model win to kick off the 2024 edition of the event on Friday night.


hero image for Ruggiero, Renfrew Headline Opening Night Winners at New Smyrna

Gio Ruggiero scored his first career Super Late Model win at the World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing Friday night, taking the win in the 35-lap feature to kick off nine nights of racing at New Smyrna Speedway.

Ruggiero took the lead with six laps to go, as a spirited and physical battle between Nicholas Naugle and Jett Noland for the top spot sent both drivers sliding up the racetrack. That opening was enough for both Ruggiero and his Wilson Motorsports teammate, Brent Crews, to move into first and second.

Ruggiero would lead the rest of the way, with Crews finishing second and Noland taking the third position ahead of Naugle. Conner Jones rounded out the top five.

Noland had briefly taken the lead from Naugle on lap 18 of the race. However, the caution flew for Brad May slowing on the racetrack, reverting scoring to the last completed lap and giving the lead back to Naugle for the restart. Noland took the lead from Naugle on the restart, but Naugle was able to stay in touch with Noland before their coming together.

Ruggiero finished second in the Super Late Model points battle during last year's World Series, but did not score a victory over the course of the event. Now, last year's Winchester 400 winner can add a New Smyrna victory to his resume, with several more chances to visit victory lane over the course of the upcoming week.

The Pro Late Model kickoff came down to a battle between Jimmy Renfrew, Jr. and George Phillips, with Renfrew ultimately winning the battle and taking the checkered flag. Renfrew took the lead from Phillips on lap 27 and held on over the final nine laps for the win.

In the Sportsman feature, Adam Briggs took the checkered flag, finishing ahead of Derek Griffith. Briggs now has wins in three consecutive World Series in the Sportsman division, after winning on Night No. 1 in 2022 and Night No. 2 in 2023.

L.J. Grimm won a battle of attrition for the Florida Modifieds on opening night. Wayne Parker slowed to a stop under caution from the lead after seven laps, and Jerry Symons fell out of the top spot with a mechanical issue of his own on lap 21.

In an exciting Bomber A 20-lap feature to close out the evening, Joseph Warren led just one lap - the last lap. He took the lead from Dustin Higdon on the final lap before Higdon was collected in a multi-car incident on the backstretch, allowing Warren to cruise to the checkered flag.


122Gio Ruggiero
224Brent Crews
350Jett Noland
408Nicholas Naugle
544Conner Jones
626Dawson Sutton
757Gus Dean
814Austin Nason
962William Sawalich
1023Billy VanMeter
1115Gabe Sommers
1212GDerek Griffith
139KDerek Kraus
1420Kris Wright
1527Bobby Good
167Mitch Haver
1736Ty Fredrickson
1876James Lynch
1954TTommy Catalano
2021CJeff Choquette
2121KDerek Kelley
2227KCody Krucker
2305Brandon Turbush
2454AAmy Catalano
2580Donald Theetge
2669Michael Hinde
279MBrad May
2817Danny Knoll, Jr.
2978Jo Lawrence
30112Steve Weaver
3126PBubba Pollard
3229Hunter Wright
3311David Weaver
349TPatrick Thomas


100Jimmy Renfrew
255George Phillips
329Hunter Wright
426SDawson Sutton
508LRyan Luza
628Isabella Robusto
771Katie Hettinger
815MBrody Monahan
947Dustin Bryson
108Chad Butz
1192R.J. Braun
1254Diogo Moscato
131Toni Breidinger
1425Anthony Bello
1531BBBilly Braun
1694Cory Luciano
1729STommy Sorem
1818SMike Scorzelli
190Glenn Styres
2043Ray Minieri
2124Dalton Smith
2215RChristian Rose
2393KThomas Karson
2433Tim Laurent
2522Ryan Phipps
2618AJared Allison
2745Mike Mayberry
286Brandon Lopez
2917TChuck Tuck


114Adam Briggs
212GDerek Griffith
358Steve Barnes
47DTravis Devendorf
57BKody Brusso
625Timmy Todd
730Chris Huntoon
861LGarrett Larson
915SHunter Slayton
1063George Alexander
11115Tyler Simpson
1233Hudson Sharp
1322BScott Bramlett
1430XRich Lovance
1561CKyle Case


172L.J. Grimm
257Tim Moore
335Eugene Tuminello, Jr.
432Dylan Williams
516Brian Gayton
615GMatthew Green
766Jerry Symons
81WWayne Parker
918Jared Allison


115Joseph Warren
214KBrandon Gaither
308Ryan Warren
472Charles Friddle
512MJimmy McKinley
63Eddie Evans
714HDustin Higdon
87Aaron Foye
931Charles Zukowski
1088MMichael Derico
1128Kris Lawrence
1255Jim Snyder
1328BTWayde Thorne
1469Evin Dorton
RA Icon


Sign-up for our free NASCAR & Grassroots racing newsletter...