Carolina Pro Late Models Kick Off 2022 Season This Weekend

The Carolina Pro Late Model Series rolls into Southern National Motorsports Park Saturday.


hero image for Carolina Pro Late Models Kick Off 2022 Season This Weekend

The Carolina Pro Late Model Series kicks off its 2022 season Saturday, rolling into action at Southern National Motorsports Park in Lucama, North Carolina.

The series is entering its third season, with 13 dates on tap for the year. The season begins at Southern National, a 4/10-mile high-banked oval which also closed out the 2021 season as part of the Thanksgiving Classic weekend.

In that race, Caden Kvapil took the checkered flag in a non-points event. Kvapil hopes to defend that win in Saturday's event as one of 19 drivers currently pre-entered for the race.

READ MORE: Caden Kvapil Cruises to Carolina Pro Late Model Win at Southern National

Kvapil's older brother, Carson Kvapil, was the tour's inaugural champion in 2020, while Nick Loden claimed top honors in the Carolina Pro Late Model Series last year.

Aside from Caden Kvapil, Kyle Campbell is the only former CPLMS winner currently entered for Saturday's race. Campbell scored a victory with the series in 2020 at Hickory Motor Speedway.

Naturally, a strong North Carolina contingent will be on hand for Saturday's season opener. Along with Kvapil and Campbell, there will be David Thomas, Amber Lynn, Clint King, Ryan Mathews, Josh Van Winkle, Josh Lowder and Caleb Costner.

A trio of Florida drivers are also entered for Saturday's race. Ruben Caceres, EJ Tamayo and Mason Maggio will represent the Sunshine State.

A full entry list for Saturday's race can be seen below.

The Carolina Crate Modified Series will also be in action, along with Southern National's local Limited Late Models, Chargers, Legends, Bandoleros and Bombers.

The first green flag for Saturday's card is scheduled for 3 p.m. ET. Fans can visit or for more info.

Fans unable to attend Saturday's event will be able to watch live with a subscription to Racing America.

Carolina Pro Late Model Entry List

1 - Caleb Johnson
1 - David Thomas
1X - Rube Caceres
2 - Amber Lynn
03 - Kyle Campbell
5 - Jason Holladay
07 - Clint King
10 - EJ Tamayo
15 - TBA
15NC - Jacob Perry
18 - Landon DeVaughn
21 - Ryan Mathews
35 - Caden Kvapil
44 - Josh Van Winkle
48 - Toby Grynewicz
51 - Mason Maggio
63 - Josh Lowder
71 - Katie Hettinger
95 - Caleb Costner