Upcoming Events on

RATV white
Full Schedule

Bumgarner Writes Final Note in Wilkesboro Pavement History Book

The Hickory Limited Late Model points leader will go down in history at North Wilkesboro.


hero image for Bumgarner Writes Final Note in Wilkesboro Pavement History Book

Before the dirt racing portion of North Wilkesboro Speedway’s Racing Revival, the venerable pavement surface will be removed, uncovering the original dirt racing surface beneath it.

Thus, the honor of last driver to take a checkered flag on the historic pavement surface went to Michael Bumgarner, as he led all 50 laps of the Limited Late Model feature to close out Wednesday night’s racing.

The young driver currently leads the Limited Late Model points standings at another historic North Carolina track, Hickory Motor Speedway. However, taking the win at North Wilkesboro Speedway holds much more special meaning.

“I don’t know what it means to me yet. It hasn’t sunk in yet,” said Bumgarner in victory lane. “It doesn’t feel real right now. A year ago, I wasn’t even racing Limited Late Models and I’m now a winner at North Wilkesboro.”

While Bumgarner led every lap of the event, it was not without challenges. Between navigating lapped traffic and maintaining his advantage over Tuesday night winner Chris Chapman, it was no leisurely cruise.

“I tried navigating the best I could. I knew I couldn’t mess up, he was right there. At the end, I heard dad say we were getting away from him by seven or eight car lengths.

“I was in disbelief the last couple of laps, thinking ‘Holy cow, we’re going to win North Wilkesboro.’”

One night ago, Gary Ledbetter finished second to Bobbie Tumbleston, III when the Street Stocks hit the track at North Wilkesboro. On Wednesday, Ledbetter finished one spot better.

Ledbetter, a five-time winner of the New Year’s Bash at Dillon Motor Speedway and three-time Mid-Atlantic Street Stock Championship Series champion, dominated the Street Stock feature, leading from flag to flag for the victory.

With his win, Ledbetter earned the trip on the elevator to North Wilkesboro’s rooftop victory lane. Most of all, Ledbetter was simply grateful to have the opportunity to race at the historic track.

“I just can’t thank them enough for having this race,” said Ledbetter. “I’m glad they had the Street Stocks here. It’s good to win the last one, I reckon.”

What was the difference between Tuesday and Wednesday night? Ledbetter chalked that up to simply learning from more track time on the 0.625-mile oval.

“I say more laps on a track you haven’t ever been to helps quite a bit. Last night and today, we got as many laps as we could. Learning the track was the main thing, the car handled pretty good.”

READ MORE: Racetrack Revival



1. Michael Bumgarner
2. Chris Chapman
3. Justin Whitaker
4. Chris Phipps
5. Tanner Garrett
6. Jason Kitzmiller
7. Tyler Gregory
8. Brian Obiedzenski
9. Boo Boo Dalton
10. Landon Huffman
11. Dylan Ward
12. Casey Kepley, Jr.
13. Amber Lynn
14. Clint Fields
15. Akinori Ogata
16. Tristan McKee
17. Brandon Cox
18. Mark Goin
19. Brody Duggins
20. Dusty Garus
21. Bryce Applegate
22. Jimmy Simmons
23. Hunter Deshautelle
24. Steven Truell
25. Cameron Bolin
26. Zach Bruenger
27. Cameron Hedgecock
28. Eddy Cox
29. Kenneth Pardue
30. James Sweeney
31. Justin Mitchell


1. Gary Ledbetter
2. Cody DeMarmels
3. Kyle Lynch
4. Eric Zeh
5. Donald Machutta
6. Boo Carlisle
7. Jeff Melton
8. Jesse Cottrell
9. Wayne McGee
10. Jonathan Langham
11. David Rader
12. Ryan Flores
13. John Guker
14. Frank Curtis
15. James McLaughlin, Jr.
16. Travis Hanson
17. Jeff Sparks
18. Dillon Crouch
19. Ethan Johnson
20. Kenny Vetetoe