Holcombe, Taylor Split Renegades Of Dirt Wins At Lake View

Austin Holcombe and Jordan Taylor split the Renegades Of Dirt UMP Modified wins at Lake View Motor Speedway


hero image for Holcombe, Taylor Split Renegades Of Dirt Wins At Lake View

LAKE VIEW, SC (September 17) – Austin Holcombe and Jordan Taylor split the Renegades Of Dirt UMP Modified wins at Lake View Motor Speedway as part of Pop Hahn’s Man On The Moon Open Wheel Madness weekend. Holcombe bounced back from a frustrating start to the weekend for the Saturday night win, while Taylor made a thrilling run through the field to win on Friday night.

The weekend began with Jordan Taylor bouncing back from an opening lap spin to pass Indiana’s John Demoss with three laps to go to win on Friday night. Holcombe led the first 12 laps before a flat right rear tire sent him to the pits. Holcombe’s night went from bad to worse as he ended up against the frontstretch wall a few laps later resulting in an early end to his night. Following Taylor and Demoss at the finish were David Taylor, Jim Manka, and Tim Monroe.

On Saturday night, luck was definitely on Holcombe’s side. First, avoiding an accident that took out race leader Doug Penny as he lapped David Esposito. Then, Holcombe survived a broken rear suspension late in the race to hold of John Demoss for the win. Rounding out the top five were Jason Floyd, Alyssa Rowe, and Penny.

Jacob McClain inherited the Carolina Sprint Tour win after apparent winner Jeff Oliver came up light on the scales. The race began with a scary incident after contact with Oliver sent Brandon McClain flying over the turn three embankment. Fortunately, McClain landed wheels up and was able to climb out under his own power. Behind J. McClain at the finish were Cale Cozad, Sean Vardell, Jaden Bowling, and Rich Wisdo.

Statesville, NC’s Buck Stevens held off a race-long challenge from Dustin Watkins to take the win in the 602 Modified division. Rounding out the top five were Austin Holcombe, Jay Reich, and Colton Beasley.

The 602 Late Models made their first visit to Lake View and it was Daniel Parker taking the dominant win. The only caution of the race occurred on lap 12 when Steven Thompkins and Steven Blanton crashed on the backstretch. Following Parker to the checkered flag were Donovan Jackson, Austin Mintz, Terry Caples, Jr., and Carl Curin.

The Bell & Bell Vintage cars were in action as well with Jeremy and Dean Cumbee taking the Pro Modified and Sportsman wins, Wes Horrell the Modified win, Kyle Bell the 6-Cylinder win, and WC Bell the win in the Senior division.

In other Friday night racing, Andrew Durham dominated to score the win in the Street Stock division over Austin Rodonis, Daulton Dabbs, Michael Butler, and Darryl Moran.

Scott Lewis took the lead from polesitter, Jaden Locklear, on the second lap and never looked back to hold off Rocky Gasque for the Stock V8 win. Following Lewis and Gasque at the finish were Locklear, Ed Mason, and Jason Floyd.

Derek Kemper grabbed the lead when leaders Jason Brown and Kyle Jenks got together on the opening lap and led the rest of the way for the SCDRA Morrisonbuilt Performance Sport Compacts. Rounding out the top five were Trent Herring, Collin Brown, and J. Brown, and Chelsea Richardson.

Lake View Motor Speedway will be back in action again next Saturday night, October 1st as the Late Models return to competition, along with the Carolina Outlaw Super Street, Street Stock, Stock V8, 602 Open Wheel Modifieds, and Sport Compacts. For more information, please “Like” Lake View Motor Speedway on Facebook, follow @LakeViewDirt on Twitter or by visiting lakeviewmotorspeedway.com.

-Lake View Motor Speedway Press Release