Hirschman Claims First NWMT Pole at New Smyrna

"Big Money" is no stranger to success at the Florida half-mile.


hero image for Hirschman Claims First NWMT Pole at New Smyrna

It may be the first time the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour has come to New Smyrna Speedway, but a familiar name topped the charts in qualifying.

Hirschman set fast time in the qualifying session to secure the Mayhew Tools pole award for the inaugural NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour event at New Smyrna Speedway. Hirschman has 10 career wins at New Smyrna Speedway during World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing competition.

Ryan Preece qualified second in his return to BRE Racing and "Ole Blue." Kyle Bonsignore was third, followed by Ronnie Williams and defending NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour champion Justin Bonsignore.

After an early issue led to a disappointing finish for the New Brunswick native on opening night, Cory Hall set fast time in Pro Late Model qualifying. Night #1 winner Michael Hinde was second, followed by Hunter Wright, Giovanni Ruggiero and Gus Dean.

The Sportsmen will close out the night with a 50-lap feature. Jason Boyd set fast time during their single-car time trials, followed by Adam Briggs, Tim Sozio, Kyle Casper and Scott Bramlett.


1. Matt Hirschman
2. Ryan Preece
3. Kyle Bonsignore
4. Ronnie Williams
5. Justin Bonsignore
6. Jon McKennedy
7. J.R. Bertuccio Jr.
8. Austin Beers
9. Mike Christopher Jr.
10. J.B. Fortin
11. David Sapienza
12. Tyler Rypkema
13. Eric Goodale
14. Craig Lutz
15. Jimmy Blewett
16. Chris Young
17. Patrick Emerling
18. Tommy Catalano
19. Ron Silk
20. Spencer Davis
21. Dylan Slepian
22. Kyle Ebersole
23. Paul Charette
24. Joey Culter
25. Eddie McCarthy
26. Andrew Krause
27. Ken Heagy
28. Matt Kimball
29. Jeremy Gerstner
30. Gary McDonald
31. Melissa Fifield

Pro Late Models

1. Cory Hall
2. Michael Hinde
3. Hunter Wright
4. Giovanni Ruggiero
5. Gus Dean
6. Jett Noland
7. William Sawalich
8. Jean-Philipe Bergeron
9. Chase Johnson
10. Mathieu Kingsbury
11. Austin Thom
12. Conner Jones
13. Dakota Stroup
14. Parker Chase
15. Jerry Artuso
16. Dylan Stovall
17. James Storey
18. Scottie Lamp
19. Toni Breidinger
20. Roger Maynor
21. Ruben Caceres
22. Sam Fullone
23. Emiliano Rodriguez
24. Mike Mayberry


1. Jason Boyd
2. Adam Briggs
3. Tim Sozio
4. Kyle Casper
5. Scott Bramlett
6. Travis Devendorf
7. Chris Huntoon
8. Wayne Smith
9. George Alexander
10. John Heil
11. Dodge Carlbert
12. Gary McFall
13. Bryton Horner
14. James McCague
15. Brian Soukup