Looking Ahead to Carteret County's Race of Champions

The event features a $10,000-to-win 125-lap Late Model Stock Car event.


hero image for Looking Ahead to Carteret County's Race of Champions

On Saturday, December 11, Carteret County Speedway in Swansboro, North Carolina hosts what it is billing as the biggest event in track history, the Solid Rock Carriers Race of Champions.

The event at the 4/10-mile oval is headlined by a $10,000-to-win, $1,000-to-start Late Model Stock Car feature. The Late Model Stock Cars will compete for 125 laps, and will be joined on the card by a 50-lap Legends feature, 20 laps of Jr. Mini Cup racing and spectator racing.

Nearly 20 Late Model teams have already submitted entries for the event, including some notable names in the Late Model Stock world.

Among the entrants are two of the last three Hampton Heat winners, making the trip south for one last race before the offseason. 2019 winner Connor Hall and 2020 winner Brenden Queen will both take part in the Race of Champions. Former ValleyStar Credit Union 300 polesitter Stacy Puryear will also represent Virginia in the Race of Champions.

Like several other crown jewel events this fall in the Late Model Stock world, Justin Johnson will be on hand along with young Virginian Conner Jones in their R & S Race Cars. Doug Barnes, Jr., coming off a third-place finish (and memorable post-race interview) in the Thanksgiving Classic at Southern National Motorsports Park, is also entered.

Of course, there will plenty of other North Carolina natives other than Johnson hoping to keep the first Race of Champions trophy in the Tar Heel State. Drivers such as Eric Winslow, Tyler Matthews, Tommy Neal, Ross "Boo Boo" Dalton, Justin Carroll and Jody Measamer will all be part of the Race of Champions field.

A full list of entries can be viewed below.

Qualifying is scheduled to begin at 11 a.m. Eastern on Saturday, followed by a fan meet-and-greet on the frontstretch. Feature racing will begin at 1 p.m. ET.

Adult admission tickets are $15, or $10 if you bring an unopened toy to contribute to the track's toy drive. Children 10 and under receive free admission.

Fans unable to attend the event will be able to watch live on Racing America powered by Speed51.TV.


#00 Jody Measamer - Sanford, NC
#4 Adam Resnick - Surf City, NC
#7 Tristan McKee - Williamsburg, VA
#14 Justin Johnson - Roxboro, NC
#17 Stacy Puryear - South Boston, VA
#21 Tommy Neal - Rural Hall, NC
#22 Eric Winslow - Pelham, NC
#25 Kenneth Mercer - Kinston, NC
#41 Brenden Queen - Chesapeake, VA
#44 Conner Jones - Fredricksburg, VA
#50 BooBoo Dalton - Greensboro, NC
#50 Daniel Vuncannon - Fuquay-Varina, NC
#57 Justin Carroll - Kannapolis, NC
#57 Eddie Johnson - Midlothian, VA
#77 Connor Hall - Hampton, VA
#77 Tyler Matthews Beulaville, NC
#77 Trevor Ward Winston Salem, NC
#88 Donnie Apple - Denton, NC
#88 Doug Barnes, Jr. - Forest Hill, MD