Upcoming Events on

RATV white
Full Schedule

Kody Swanson Marks 33rd Little 500 Entry

Fans are guaranteed to see 11 rows of three non-winged Sprint Cars to start the Little 500 for the 75th time.


hero image for Kody Swanson Marks 33rd Little 500 Entry

A full field of 33 is set to qualify for the 75th Annual Lucas Oil Little 500 presented by UAW as Kody Swanson becomes the 33rd entrant into the event. The Little 500 has traditionally started with 33 non wing pavement sprint cars lined up in 11 rows of three. With Swanson’s entry, fans are guaranteed to see this tradition continue for a 75th time.

Kody Swanson (Kingsburg, California) is a three time Little 500 champion with victories coming in 2016, 2018, and 2019. In addition to his three victories, Swanson is also a three time pole sitter having won the pole position in three consecutive years from 2019 to 2021. If Swanson qualifies on pole position again in 2023, he will move into a second place tie with Tom Cherry on the list of most pole positions. Dave Steele and Frank Riddle currently sit atop the list with five pole positions each.

Swanson also comes into the week of Little 500 having been crowned the Inaugural Auto Value Bumper to Bumper Part Stores 500 Sprint Car Tour Series Champion in 2022. The 500 Sprint Car Tour, a non-wing pavement sprint car series touring the midwest, co-sanctions the Little 500 with the United States Speed Association (USSA). Swanson won two events on the 500 Sprint Car Tour schedule in 2023 with one of those victories coming at Anderson’s famed ¼ mile oval in the Inaugural Gene Nolen Classic. The victory brought on an emotional celebration for Swanson as two of his three Little 500 victories came under the Nolen Racing banner. Swanson now enters his third year racing with Doran Enterprises (Doran Binks Racing in 2023) and the team looks to build on the momentum generated from last year’s championship run

Swanson will be one of four former Little 500 winners entered into this year’s event. Jeff Bloom enters the 2023 Little 500 tied with Kody Swanson with three victories while Tyler Roahrig enters with two victories and Bobby Santos III with a single victory in 2020. Swanson will attempt to cement his name in history as only the fourth driver to have four or more Little 500 victories. Swanson would tie Tom Cherry with the third most victories at four apiece while Bob Frey sits in second place with five victories and Eric Gordon stands alone with an unprecedented nine Little 500 wins.

The 75th Annual Lucas Oil Little 500 presented by UAW is set to be run on Saturday, May 27th at 8:00pm. Practice for teams begins on Wednesday, May 24 from 12:00pm to 4:00pm. CB Fabricating Pole Day is scheduled for Thursday, May 25 from 11:30am – 3:30pm. Final practice and Bump Day is set for Friday, May 26 from 11:30am to 3:30pm. Grandstand admission is free for fans Wednesday through Friday and race day tickets are reserved seating only and are $45 each. Tickets for the 75th Annual Lucas Oil Little 500 presented by UAW are on sale now and can be purchased by calling (765) 642-0206 ex. 121 or by stopping by the ticket office. Fans can also stream the event live via MAVTV on Floracing by clicking here to subscribe or stream.

-Anderson Speedway Press Release
-Photo credit: Jack Kessler