Article Sponsored by
Hooters Logo


Stickler Scores the Big Modified Win at Snowball Derby

Stickler passed fellow Pinellas Park, FL native Stephen Nasse for the victory.


hero image for Stickler Scores the Big Modified Win at Snowball Derby

It was on July 9 when Cody Stickler broke through for his first win at Five Flags Speedway with the Modifieds of Mayhem after four straight podium finishes at the half-mile. On Friday night, he knocked off the big race, winning the Modified race at the Snowball Derby.

He passed fellow Pinellas Park, Florida native and Super Late Model star Stephen Nasse after the final restart with 17 laps to go and outran him to the checkered flag for his first win in the race. Stickler ran in the top-five all race while Nasse opened up a lead through the middle portions of the 75-lap main event, then started to make his move to the front. A late yellow bunched the field back up and allowed Stickler to make the winning move.

“I think it was just the clean air, getting out front in that clean air helped,” Stickler said in victory lane. “When he was out front I couldn’t really reel him in and it seemed like when I got out there it was the same.”

Stickler has made the trip north to Five Flags Speedway to compete at the Snowball Derby for several years and has been competitive in every appearance. He had finished second and third in the two previous Snowball Derby races, and was racing for the win late in 2017 before a mechanical issue sidelined him just laps from the finish.


He won his first Five Flags Speedway race in July in a 50-lap Modifieds of Mayhem event leading up to last night’s big win.

“Oh my God, this is amazing. I’ve been trying for five or six years now giving everything we’ve got, man it feels good. This is crazy.”

Stephen Nasse led the most laps in the Doug Moff-owned No. 46 but a flat tire ended his race with just three laps to go while running second. Two-time Snowball Derby champion Augie Grill would inherit the second spot, followed by defending race winner Derrick Griffin, and Central Florida drivers LJ Grimm and LB Skaggs.

Despite a 22nd place finish, Bill Burba was able to lock up the 2021 Modifieds of Mayhem championship. He is the second Ohio driver to win the series title in as many years.

Modifieds of Mayhem Results:

  1. Cody Stickler
  2. Augie Grill
  3. Derrick Griffin
  4. LJ Grimm
  5. LB Skaggs
  6. Parker Pugh
  7. Josh Ware
  8. Clayton Green
  9. Nick Clements
  10. Danny Jackson
  11. Jason Congdon
  12. Kevin Peel
  13. Okie Mason
  14. Hunter Evans
  15. Donny Duchesne
  16. Brandon Curren
  17. Stephen Nasse
  18. Larry Hughes
  19. Jeff Letson
  20. Logan Bearden
  21. Kaden Honeycutt
  22. Bill Burba
  23. Tim Moore
  24. Curtis Spencer
  25. Donnie Hamrac
  26. Kyle Purvis
  27. Matt Maurer
  28. Max McDonald
  29. Ryan Amonett
  30. Johnny Walker
  31. Logan Boyett
  32. Jordan Key