Article Sponsored by


Results: Roderick DQ, Emotional Victory Lanes on Derby Opening Night

Pro Trucks, Sportsmen and Pure Stocks raced on Thursday night at Five Flags Speedway.


hero image for Results: Roderick DQ, Emotional Victory Lanes on Derby Opening Night

The 54th Annual Snowball Derby kicked off Thursday night with three races highlighting local divisions at Five Flags Speedway. The Pro Trucks, Sportsmen and Pure Stocks took to the track in search of Snowball Derby glory.

13-year-old Gavin Graham inherited the Pro Truck win after Casey Roderick was disqualified following post-race technical inspection. Graham would have a shot at winning on the final restart following a big jump but would be passed coming to the white flag.

Steven Davis was also disqualified for his role in a dramatic accident involving Hunter Johnson and John Heil.


Win number eight for Brannon Fowler on the season would be his third-career win on Snowball Derby weekend in the Sportsmen. He led every lap after starting on the pole for the 50-lap event in what would be a dominating performance Thursday night.

He had won seven races during the points season at Five Flags, but had ultimately lost the Sportsmen track championship after an issue in tech at the end of the season. It was a family affair in victory lane with his father and son.

“What’s right is right and what’s wrong is wrong. They said that spacer wasn’t allowed and they said you can’t have it so take your stuff and take it to the house, so that’s what we did,” said Fowler in victory lane. “I think we showed that it didn’t help or hinder how the car ran.”

“He was at the first Snowball and now he’s here at the 54th and I thank the Lord he’s here today. My crew chief Collin and all that he means to me and all that he does. There’s been a lot of great people that’s helped us stand right here this weekend and I’m proud to just stand here where they once stood.”

In the Pure Stocks, Robert Loper capped off a championship season with another feature win on the biggest weekend of the season. The win came with extra meaning, Loper having made the trip to the track after son Ely was admitted to the hospital on Wednesday night.

“This is a real hard win. I hate to say it but my son went back in the hospital last night, we’re not sure what’s going on. This is all for him. We had a hard-fought battle,” Loper stated. “The day of the final race I told myself that I was going to tell my kids that you can’t give up. So I came here and raced my butt off and luckily we pulled it off.”

Full results from Thursday night’s racing can be found below.

Pro Trucks Results:

  1. Gavin Graham
  2. Jerry Goff
  3. Daryl Rudd
  4. Logan Boyett
  5. Maddox Langham
  6. Jeff Campbell
  7. Anthony Monroe
  8. Jim Teague
  9. Bubba Gale
  10. Dustin Bryson
  11. Jake Wright
  12. Jarrett Parker
  13. EJ Fitzgerald
  14. Hunter Johnson
  15. John Heil
  16. Ethan Barker
  17. Chad Robinson
  18. Treyce Capers
  19. Okie Mason
  20. Brandon Burks
  21. Presley Johnson
  22. Jessie Reid
  23. Paul Riels
  24. Casey Roderick
  25. Steven Davis

Sportsmen Results:

  1. Brannon Fowler
  2. Billy Hoover
  3. Dillon Spreen
  4. Daryl McDonald
  5. Jason Gammon
  6. Joe Richbourg
  7. Tommie Blocker
  8. Maddox Langham
  9. Brock Genz
  10. Larry McCraney
  11. Paul Scholss
  12. Bubba Hart
  13. Jim Pokrant
  14. Hunter Lambert
  15. Paul Mathis
  16. Kevin Mitchell

Pure Stock Results:

  1. Robert Loper
  2. Cameron Leytham
  3. James Hollingsworth
  4. David Johnson
  5. Parker McDonald
  6. John Merritt
  7. Corey Boddie
  8. Jimmy Day
  9. Caleb Burkett
  10. Butch Harvell Jr
  11. Thomas Norman
  12. Chris Brown
  13. Brandon McKendrick
  14. Ben Cranford
  15. Cody Wood
  16. William Leytham
  17. Rocky Boyd
  18. Bobby Suarez
  19. Dylan Courtney