Article Sponsored by


10 Things to Know About the 55th Snowball Derby

Notes and stats going into the biggest race of the season.


hero image for 10 Things to Know About the 55th Snowball Derby

It's time for the biggest race of the year for Super Late Models, the Snowball Derby at Five Flags Speedway. Here are 10 things to know ahead of the marquee event.

- Pensacola welcomes an old friend to be the Grand Marshall for the 55th Annual Snowball Derby. Red Farmer, the only driver to ever run 32 consecutive Snowball derby events, will give the command to start another race. Farmer ran the first race in 1968 and set fast time before falling out of the event.

READ MORE: Red Farmer Named Grand Marshal of 55th Annual Snowball Derby

- A total of 21 drivers have led 100 laps in a Snowball Derby and did not go to victory lane. Derek Thorn actually has done it in each of the last two Snowball Derby races.

READ MORE: Derek Thorn Won't Change a Thing in Snowball Derby

- There is a lot of money on the line for the weekend for the Snowball Derby drivers. First off, it’s $2,000 to set fast time for the Snowball Derby event. The race itself will pay $30,000 to win, with $50 going to drivers who lead a lap with a total of $15,000 on the line in lap money. A big check will await the winner of the race. Also, there is a bonus going to the Snowball Derby top rookie of $10,000.

READ MORE: Lap Leader Bonuses Worth $15,000 at Snowball Derby

- Bubba Pollard will be gearing up for his 15th start in the Snowball Derby. The five-time Blizzard Series champion has won everything in short track racing except the Snowball Derby. There has not been much buzz around Pollard this year and he didn’t win a Blizzard race for the first time since 2008. Maybe these trends will be what he needs to win the Derby.

READ MORE: It Is What It's Going to Be for Bubba Pollard in 15th Derby

- Stephen Nasse and Hunter Robbins will each be looking to make their 12th start in the Snowball Derby. Robbins is a former pole sitter and Nasse won twice this season in the Blizzard Series. Nasse has five Blizzard wins in the last three seasons.

- Derek Thorn has led 648 laps in this event and has not gone to victory lane. He’s led the most of any non-winner and he’s third on the overall list as Eddie Mercer leads the list with 782. Bobby Gill is second with 691 laps led.


- Speaking of Thorn, Friday night he looks to set and or tie a record. Thorn could win the pole for the Snowball Derby for the fourth-straight year. If he does, it would tie with Eddie Mercer for the most pole awards at the Snowball with four.

- There are 21 Snowball Derby rookies on the premises who are looking for that $10,000 bonus for the top Snowball Rookie.

READ MORE: Snowball Derby Rookie of the Year to Earn $10,000

- Despite Chandler Smith withdrawing from the race there are still four former winners looking to make the field. Augie Grill, Noah Gragson, Ty Majeski and Erik Jones will all be seeking the Tom Dawson trophy again.

- You can watch the race live on Sunday on - The flag-to-flag coverage can be purchased in a package deal or days can be individuals.


56th Derby


Watch the Allen Turner Snowflake 100 on Racing America