Throwback Thursday: March 17

Here are some racing memories from St. Patrick's Day.


hero image for Throwback Thursday: March 17

This week's Throwback Thursday really does turn back the clock, going back to Champ Car racing in 1915. From that to the convertible racing days of the 1950s to more modern times, here are some drivers who have been lucky enough to find victory lane on St. Patrick's Day.

1915 - Way back in 1915, Barney Oldfield won an AAA Champ Car race at Venice Road Race Course in California. Oldfield won eight races with the AAA Champ Car Series and ran the Indy 500 twice before 1920. In 1910, he was the first driver to top 130 miles per hour on the beach at Daytona. You might remember his name was on the turn four grandstand at Daytona International Speedway for many years.

THE THIRD TURN: 1915 AAA Champ Car at Venice Road Race Course

1957 - At the Greensboro Fairgrounds, Curtis Turner won the fourth race of the 1957 NASCAR Convertible season. Starting from the pole, Turner led 148 of 150 laps and beat Joe Weatherly for the victory. Turner would go on to win 10 more times that season, but he missed several races, thus giving the title to Bob Welborn.

THE THIRD TURN: 1957 NASCAR Convertible Series at Greensboro Fairgrounds

1984 - Davey Allison wins the ARCA race at the Atlanta Motor Speedway over Rick Wilson and Lee Raymond. Allison won eight times in the ARCA Series and actually had two wins at Atlanta. This was the first of those before he went to the Cup Series in 1987.

THE THIRD TURN: 1984 Georgia ARCA 150 at Atlanta Motor Speedway

1995 & 1996 - On this day in 1995 and 1996 Scott Bloomquist found victory lane on the dirt. In 1995, he won the Shamrock 100 at Cleveland Speedway (TN). Bloomquist would return to win the race again two more times. Scott Bloomquist’s second win on this day came a year later in Gaffney, South Carolina at Cherokee Speedway in a victory over Freddy Smith and Skip Ard.

THE THIRD TURN: 1995 Shamrock 100 at Cleveland Speedway | 1996 UDTRA Hav-A-Tampa Series at Cherokee Speedway

2001 - The last major sanctioned race was run at St. Augustine Speedway (FL). The Hooters Pro Cup Series had the pleasure of being the last major event. Jay Fogleman led 142 laps and out ran Bobby Gill for the win. Pole sitter Steve Christian was third after leading 95 laps himself.

THE THIRD TURN: 2001 Jackaroo Sauces 250 at St. Augustine Speedway

2007 - Doug Moff wins a FASCAR Goodyear Challenge Series event at New Smyrna Speedway which was for crate Late Models at the time. Moff won four times that season to claim the series title. The series ended just one year later after a total of 75 races all across Florida.

THE THIRD TURN: 2007 FASCAR Goodyear Challenge Series at New Smyrna Speedway

-Photo credit: ISC Archives via Getty Images