Throwback Thursday - April 7

Fathers and sons, the start of a tradition and more.


hero image for Throwback Thursday - April 7

1956 - Curtis Turner started the 1956 season at Bowman Gray Stadium (NC) with a NASCAR Late Model Sportsman win. Turner had three wins on the season as Ralph Earnhardt won the national title that season.

1962 - Rock Hill Speedway was the backdrop in South Carolina as Iggy Katona picked up his first win of the year in what was the MARC series at the time. Later it became known as the ARCA Series. It took until the 11th race of the year for Katona to get his first win of the year, but he would go on to win 6 of the final 23 events to win the title.

1966 - The very first Orange Blossom Special was run on this date at Palm Beach Fairgrounds Speedway (FL). The race was won by Marty Handshaw. It was the first edition of what we now know as the Orange Blossom 100. The race has been run at New Smyrna Speedway since the 1990s.

THE THIRD TURN: Orange Blossom 100 History

1972 - At Ocean Speedway (CA) on this date in 1972 Vic Irvan, the father of former NASCAR Cup Series driver Ernie Irvan, won the 25-lap feature event. Irvan beat Jerry Cecil and Joe Bailey for the win.

1985 - Billy Clanton picked up a NASCAR Busch All-Star Super Series win on dirt at theAnderson Motor Speedway (SC). The veteran Georgia driver beat out Clint Smith and Ronnie Johnson who would go on to later win the series title.

THE THIRD TURN: 1985 Busch All-Star Super Series at Anderson Motor Speedway

1991 -
Robbie Crouch led only one lap, but was the victor in the Bud 100 at Lee USA Speedway (NH). Dave Dion was second, Brad Leighton third and Pete Rodeau and Ralph Nason made up this all-star top five. Junior Hanley was ninth that day, but would rebound to win the ACT Pro Stock Tour championship after 7 wins.

THE THIRD TURN: 1991 Bud 100 at Lee USA Speedway

2001 -
The son of Billy Clanton, Joey Clanton won the ASA National Tour event on this date 16-years after his dad won on this date. Joey Clanton’s win came at South Boston Speedway (VA) when he started from the pole and led all 300 laps. Kevin Cywinski was second and Johnny Sauter was 17th. That year, Sauter won 10 of the 20 races.

THE THIRD TURN: 2001 Textilease Medique 300 at South Boston Speedway

-Photo credit: ISC Archives via Getty Images