Upcoming Events on

RATV white
Full Schedule

Points Report: NASCAR Cup Series Xfinity 500 at Martinsville

The Championship 4 is now set for the NASCAR Cup Series driver and owner battle, with the title coming down to next Sunday's race at Phoenix Raceway.


hero image for Points Report: NASCAR Cup Series Xfinity 500 at Martinsville

With his victory Sunday at Martinsville Speedway, Team Penske's Ryan Blaney joined Kyle Larson and Christopher Bell as the three drivers that won to lock themselves into the 2023 NASCAR Cup Series Championship 4. The fourth and final driver to advance to the title fight next Sunday at Phoenix Raceway was six-time winner William Byron.

While Blaney had one of the most dominant cars in the field all day Sunday at Martinsville, Byron struggled mightily as he was mired in heavy traffic mid-pack for much of the afternoon. Overcoming hot conditions inside the cockpit and continually battling an ill-handling car, Byron's 13th-place finish was enough to give him an eight-point advantage over third-place finisher Denny Hamlin to secure the fourth and final transfer spot.

Hamlin blamed last weekend's steering issue and crash on missing out on the Championship 4, and he will now battle Tyler Reddick for the fifth position in the overall standings. Reddick struggled throughout much of Sunday's race and was never a real factor at the front of the field, ending the day in 26th, two laps down and the lowest of all the playoff contenders.

Related: Race Results: NASCAR Cup Series Xfinity 500 at Martinsville

Chris Buescher came into Martinsville in a must-win situation and for much of the day was stuck mid-pack. Thanks to a strategy call in the late stages of the race, Buescher was able to work his way to an eighth-place finish, but it was not enough to compete for his first NASCAR Cup Series title next weekend in Phoenix.

Regular season champion Martin Truex Jr. led the opening 47 laps of Sunday's Xfinity 500, but a pit road speeding penalty and an issue with the jack on a subsequent pit stop ruined the 2017 champion's hopes at competing for a second title. Despite sitting on the pole the last two weekends, Truex scored only one top-10 finish throughout the entire playoffs and has now dropped to 12th in the reseeded standings.

Reseeded Driver Point Standings: NASCAR Cup Series Xfinity 500 at Martinsville

RankDriverVehiclePointsLdrNxtRace WinsStage WinsPlayoff PtsGLStartsTop 5Top 10DNFsPolesRace PosAttempts
1Ryan Blaney (P)12500000361423571730135
2Christopher Bell (P)205000002416035101937735
3Kyle Larson (P)55000004824135141782635
4William Byron (P)245000006841-3351420341335
5Denny Hamlin (P)112354-264626463832235141844335
6Tyler Reddick (P)452329-2671252616-1351016322635
7Brad Keselowski62278-2722510611235716303335
8Chris Buescher (P)172263-273715312103581610835
9Ross Chastain12242-2758211511135913411435
10Bubba Wallace232242-2758000013559511135
11Joey Logano222239-27613138235111752535
12Martin Truex Jr. (P)192228-2772113636-635916331235
13Kyle Busch82220-278083219-1351017622735
14Kevin Harvick42194-280626014035613101635
15Michael McDowell342157-28433712703527302535
16Ricky Stenhouse Jr.472154-2846310503529301935
17Chase Elliott (P)9799-42011355021028715301728
18Ty Gibbs #54755-424544000135410501835
19Daniel Suarez99730-427025000-135310613435
20AJ Allmendinger16687-43134310503547402835
21Alex Bowman48681-43196000032410423232
22Aric Almirola10651-4349300100352542235
23Austin Cindric2624-4376270100351540935
24Ryan Preece41614-43861001003512512035
25Corey LaJoie7597-44031700003523002235
26Justin Haley31585-44151200003516303035
27Erik Jones43557-44432800003517402135
28Todd Gilliland38547-44531000003504401035
29Chase Briscoe14521-4479260001354821435
30Austin Dillon3520-44801000-135171002335
31Harrison Burton21441-45597900003502601535
32Ty Dillon77355-46458600003500602435
33Noah Gragson199-48011560000210060021
34Cody Ware65-493513400007000007
35Jenson Button45-49552000003000003
36Mike Rockenfeller39-4961600003000003
37Travis Pastrana26-49741300001000001
38Brodie Kostecki15-49851100001000001
39Jimmie Johnson12-4988300003003003
40Kimi Raikkonen8-4992400001000001
41Jonathan Davenport1-4999700001001001
42Shane Van Gisbergen(i)0-5000110002120002
43Josh Berry(i)0-500000000101310010
44JJ Yeley(i)150-5000000002501603525
45Riley Herbst(i)0-5000000004021004
46Zane Smith(i)0-5000000008011008
47Chandler Smith(i)0-5000000003001004
48Carson Hocevar(i)420-50000000080030318
49Austin Hill(i)0-5000000005002006
50BJ McLeod(i)780-5000000002200503622
51Josh Bilicki(i)0-500000000100010010
52Cole Custer(i)0-5000000006001006
53Jordan Taylor(i)0-5000000001000001
54Andy Lally(i)0-5000000005001005
55Ryan Newman(i)510-50000000070010297
56Grant Enfinger(i)0-5000000001000001
57Brennan Poole(i)0-5000000007003007
58Conor Daly(i)0-5000000002001002
59Gray Gaulding(i)0-5000000001000001
60Sheldon Creed(i)0-5000000001000001
61John Hunter Nemechek(i)0-5000000001001001
62Anthony Alfredo(i)0-5000000002000002
63Kamui Kobayashi(i)0-5000000001000001
64Matt Crafton(i)0-5000000001001001

The 2023 NASCAR Cup Series owner championship will be determined by three of the top teams in the sport, as Team Penske, Joe Gibbs Racing and Hendrick Motorsports will battle it out next weekend at Phoenix Racing.

Hendrick Motorsports has two cars in the title fight with the No. 5 Chevrolet and the No. 24 Chevrolet, while they go up against the No. 12 Team Penske Ford and the No. 20 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota.

Reseeded Owner Point Standings: NASCAR Cup Series Xfinity 500 at Martinsville

RankOwnerPointsNumberLdrNxtRace WinsStage WinsPlayoff PtsAttempts
1Team Penske50001200361435
2Joe Gibbs Racing50002000241635
3Hendrick Motorsports5000500482435
4Hendrick Motorsports50002400684135
5Joe Gibbs Racing235411-26462646383235
623XI Racing232945-267125261635
7RFK Racing22786-272251061135
8Hendrick Motorsports22759-2725302235
9RFK Racing226317-273712312135
10Trackhouse Racing22421-275821151135
11Team Penske223922-2761313835
12Joe Gibbs Racing222819-277211363635
13Richard Childress Racing22208-27808321935
14Stewart-Haas Racing21944-28062601435
15Front Row Motorsports215734-28433712035
16JTG Daugherty Racing215447-2846310535
1723XI Racing86223-4138129200035
18Joe Gibbs Racing75554-424510700035
19Trackhouse Racing73099-42702500035
20Hendrick Motorsports72748-4273300035
21Kaulig Racing68716-43134010035
22Stewart-Haas Racing65110-43493601035
23Team Penske6242-43762701035
24Stewart-Haas Racing61441-43861001035
25Kaulig Racing58531-44152900035
26Spire Motorsports5827-4418300035
27Legacy Motor Club55743-44432500035
28Front Row Motorsports53938-44611800035
29Stewart-Haas Racing52114-44791800035
30Richard Childress Racing5203-4480100035
31Wood Brothers Racing44121-45597900035
32Legacy Motor Club37142-46297000035
33Spire Motorsports35577-46451600035
34Rick Ware Racing31951-46813600035
35Rick Ware Racing31215-4688700035
36Live Fast Motorsports25478-47465800035
37Trackhouse Racing9291-49081621003
38Front Row Motorsports8336-491790004
39Kaulig Racing6913-4931140005
40Beard Motorsports5662-4944130006
4123XI Racing3067-4970260002
42Richard Childress Racing15133-4985150001
43Legacy Motor Club1284-498830003
44TMT Racing950-499130002

Photo courtesy Chris Graythen/Getty Images

Racer Jobs 300


Accelerate Your Career In Motorsports With Racer Jobs