Upcoming Events on

RATV white
Full Schedule

Points Report: NASCAR Cup Series Verizon 200 at The Brickyard

Martin Truex Jr. maintained his points lead after his seventh-place finish, while Michael McDowell locked himself in the NASCAR Playoffs by scoring the win.


hero image for Points Report: NASCAR Cup Series Verizon 200 at The Brickyard

Michael McDowell jumped two positions to 15th in the overall driver point standings, but more importantly the Front Row Motorsports driver as able to lock himself into the NASCAR Playoffs with a dominant victory Sunday at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Entering the race on the playoff bubble, McDowell and his No. 34 team no longer have to stress over the final two races of the regular season.

With McDowell's victory, Bubba Wallace suddenly found himself on the bubble and in secure of the final transfer spot into the Playoffs. The 23XI Racing driver unofficially sits 28 points above Daniel Suarez heading into next weekend's race at Watkins Glen International.

Martin Truex Jr. was able to maintain his lead in the overall driver standings as the regular season approaches the final two events. The Joe Gibbs Racing driver leaves Indy with a 60-point lead over teammate Denny Hamlin, followed by William Byron, Christopher Bell and Kyle Larson.

Driver Point Standings: NASCAR Cup Series Verizon 200 at The Brickyard

RankDriverVehiclePointsLdrNxtRace WinsStage WinsPlayoff PtsG/LStartsOld Pts PosTop 5Top 10DNFsPolesRace PosAttempts
1Martin Truex Jr.19830003520024191411724
2Denny Hamlin11770-606025150242811231924
3William Byron24726-1044447220243811341424
4Christopher Bell20709-12117127024451233924
5Kyle Larson5698-1321123131246101262824
6Kevin Harvick4677-15321011-1245611102324
7Ross Chastain1676-15411510024769211724
8Brad Keselowski6675-15510330248510202024
9Ryan Blaney12666-164913812410411101324
10Chris Buescher17665-1651211112411510101124
11Kyle Busch8660-17053217-2249813523624
12Tyler Reddick45653-17771491241371031424
13Joey Logano22639-19114138-12412711423424
14Bubba Wallace23560-270790000241446501824
15Michael McDowell34542-28818116224172610124
16Ricky Stenhouse Jr.47542-2880105-1241527102524
17Daniel Suarez99532-29810000124183841324
18Ty Gibbs #54511-31921000-2241616201224
19Chase Elliott9480-35031011317226930217
20Alex Bowman48480-350000-5021204722521
21AJ Allmendinger16473-3577000-2241914302624
22Austin Cindric2455-37518011-1242103201524
23Justin Haley31415-415400000242315203824
24Aric Almirola10406-42490110242402413924
25Ryan Preece41403-42730110242511413124
26Corey LaJoie7387-443160000242611002924
27Todd Gilliland38379-45180000242703203724
28Erik Jones43367-4631200-50242805203524
29Austin Dillon3362-468500-50242916701624
30Harrison Burton21339-491230000243002202124
31Chase Briscoe14322-5081700-25024313610624
32Ty Dillon77230-600920000243200502724
33Noah Gragson199-63131000021330060021
34Bj Mcleod117-71382000015340030015
35Cody Ware65-765520000735000007
36Jenson Button1545-7852000013370000283
37Travis Pastrana26-804190001138000001
38Ryan Newman24-80620001339000003
39Andy Lally5120-810400023410000303
40Jordan Taylor16-81440000140000001
41* Brodie Kostecki3315-815100001410000221
42Mike Rockenfeller4213-817200001420000241
43Jimmie Johnson12-8181000-1342003003
44Kimi Raikkonen8-8224000-1143000001
45Jonathan Davenport1-8297000-1144001001
46* Shane Van Gisbergen(i)910-8301100-102361200102
47Josh Berry(i)0-8300000-2945131009
48Jj Yeley(i)0-8300000-216460110016
49Zane Smith(i)0-8300000-2647011006
50Riley Herbst(i)0-8300000-2248010002
51Chandler Smith(i)0-8300000-2149001002
52Josh Bilicki(i)780-8300000-27500000327
53Austin Hill(i)0-8300000-2351002004
54Cole Custer(i)0-8300000-2452001004
55Grant Enfinger(i)0-8300000-2153000001
56Brennan Poole(i)0-8300000-2454002004
57Conor Daly(i)0-8300000-2255001002
58Gray Gaulding(i)0-8300000-2156000001
59Anthony Alfredo(i)0-8300000-2257000002
60* Kamui Kobayashi(i)670-830000001600000331
61Matt Crafton(i)0-8300000-3158001001
62Carson Hocevar(i)0-8300000-3159001001

Joe Gibbs Racing and Hendrick Motorsports continue their stranglehold of the top five in owner points on Sunday at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Joe Gibbs Racing's No. 19, No. 11 and No. 20 Toyotas head to Watkins Glen sitting first, second and fourth, respectively. The Hendrick Motorsports No. 24 sits third in the standings, while the No. 5 rounds out the top five.

Owner Points: NASCAR Cup Series Verizon 200 at The Brickyard

RankOwnerPointsNumberLdrNxtRace WinsStage WinsPlayoff PtsAttempts
1Joe Gibbs Racing8301900352024
2Joe Gibbs Racing79511-3535251524
3Hendrick Motorsports72624-10469472224
4Joe Gibbs Racing70920-1211712724
5Hendrick Motorsports6985-13211231324
6Stewart-Haas Racing6774-1532101124
7Trackhouse Racing6761-1541151024
8RFK Racing6756-155103324
9Team Penske66612-164913824
10RFK Racing66517-1651211124
11Richard Childress Racing6608-1705321724
1223XI Racing65345-177714924
13Team Penske63922-1911413824
14Hendrick Motorsports6119-2192801124
1523XI Racing56023-2705100024
16Front Row Motorsports54234-2881811624
17JTG Daugherty Racing54247-288010524
18Trackhouse Racing53299-2981000024
19Hendrick Motorsports52648-304600-524
20Joe Gibbs Racing51154-3191500024
21Kaulig Racing47316-3573800024
22Team Penske4552-3751801124
23Kaulig Racing41531-4154000024
24Stewart-Haas Racing40610-424901124
25Stewart-Haas Racing40341-427301124
26Spire Motorsports3727-4583100024
27Legacy Motor Club36743-463500-524
28Front Row Motorsports36738-463000024
29Richard Childress Racing3623-468500-524
30Wood Brothers Racing33921-4912300024
31Stewart-Haas Racing32214-5081700-2524
32Rick Ware Racing25115-5797100024
33Spire Motorsports23077-6002100024
34Legacy Motor Club22642-604400024
35Rick Ware Racing22451-606200024
36Live Fast Motorsports17278-6585200024
37Trackhouse Racing9291-738801003
38Front Row Motorsports5436-776380002
3923XI Racing3067-800240002
40Beard Motorsports2362-80770004
41Kaulig Racing2113-80920003
42Richard Childress Racing15133-81560001
43Legacy Motor Club1284-81830003
44TMT Racing950-82130002

Image courtesy Tyson Gifford, Racing America

RA Icon


Sign-up for our free NASCAR & Grassroots racing newsletter...