Upcoming Events on

RATV white
Full Schedule

NASCAR Hall of Fame Announces Class of 2024 Inductees

Jimmie Johnson, Chad Knaus, and Donnie Allison will be inducted into the NASCAR Hall of Fame on January 19th, 2024, as part of the 'Class of 2024'.


hero image for NASCAR Hall of Fame Announces Class of 2024 Inductees

On Wednesday, NASCAR announced that Jimmie Johnson, Chad Knaus, and Donnie Allison had been named the three Class of 2024 inductees for the NASCAR Hall of Fame.

The induction ceremony will take place on Friday, January 19th, 2024, and will take place at the NASCAR Hall of Fame and Charlotte Convention Center in Charlotte, North Carolina.

Members of the Voting Panel met on Wednesday in order to discuss and vote upon the 15 nominees eligible for induction, as well as the five nominated for the Landmark Award for Outstanding Contributions to NASCAR.

Jimmie Johnson, a seven-time NASCAR Cup Series champion and co-owner of LEGACY MOTOR CLUB, received 93% of the vote, meaning that only four individuals excluded the 47-year-old from their ballots.

Chad Knaus, who was instrumental in bringing the seven NASCAR Cup Series titles back to Hendrick Motorsports alongside Johnson, received 81% of the Modern Era Ballot vote.

“I cannot imagine a more fitting moment than Jimmie (Johnson) and Chad (Knaus) being inducted into the NASCAR Hall of Fame in the same class,” said Rick Hendrick, owner of Hendrick Motorsports. “As individuals, they’re truly unique, with different personalities, strengths, and approaches to their craft. Each is a champion and generational talent in their own right. But together, they were pure magic. All of us at Hendrick Motorsports were fortunate to see greatness up close as they re-wrote the record book. On behalf of our entire organization, congratulations to two of the fiercest competitors – and best people – our sport has ever seen. We look forward to celebrating their unprecedented achievements.”

Neil Bonnett, Tim Brewer, Jeff Burton, Carl Edwards, Harry Gant, Harry Hyde, Larry Phillips, and Ricky Rudd accompanied both Johnson and Kanus on the Modern Era Ballot for the Class of 2024.

Donnie Allison, a member of the famous 'Alabama Gang', scored 53% of the Pioneer Ballot votes, with Banjo Matthews earning the second-most votes. Sam Ard, AJ Foyt, and Ralph Moody were also included on the ballot.

Janet Guthrie, the first woman to compete in both the Daytona 500 and Indianapolis 500, was elected the winner of the Landmark Award for Outstanding Contributions to NASCAR over Alvin Hawkins, Lesa France Kennedy, Dr. Joseph Mattioli, and Les Richter.

Guthrie moved on from a career as a successful aerospace engineer in the early 1960s to pursue her passion of becoming a full-time racecar driver, which she accomplished in 1972.

Scoring a career-best sixth-place finish at Bristol Motor Speedway in 1977, Guthrie is one of three women to score multiple top-10 results in NASCAR's premier series.

Image Courtesy of Jared C.Tilton | Getty Images

RA Icon


Sign-up for our free NASCAR & Grassroots racing newsletter...