Upcoming Events on

RATV white
Full Schedule

NASCAR Cup Series Drivers Announce Formation of Drivers Advisory Council

Current drivers Kurt Busch, Austin Dillon, Denny Hamlin, Corey LaJoie, Joey Logano, and Daniel Suarez will participate


hero image for NASCAR Cup Series Drivers Announce Formation of Drivers Advisory Council

CHARLOTTE, N.C. (February 11, 2022) – Today, the NASCAR Cup Series drivers announce the formation of the Drivers Advisory Council. This council is an independent group of eligible members that, through its passion for competition and sustainability of racing, is committed to further improving the areas of safety in motorsports, growing and enhancing the sport, and maximizing the opportunities for drivers to achieve success both on and off the track.

The Drivers Advisory Council, comprised of current and former Cup Series competitors, will work alongside key stakeholders within the industry to collectively move the sport forward and construct positive change. Seven drivers will serve as Board of Directors for the newly formed group: Kurt Busch, Austin Dillon, Denny Hamlin, Corey LaJoie, Joey Logano, Kyle Petty, and Daniel Suarez.

Speed51 Icon

As a current driver and also a team owner, I now see things from a different perspective and that has made me appreciate the importance of collaboration across the industry. The new council will deliver a unified, collective voice from the drivers to help address any challenges we face and help accomplish the common goals the industry shares.

Denny Hamlin, #11 Cup Series Driver & 23XI Racing Owner

Jeff Burton, former NASCAR driver and multi-race winner in the premier series, will lead the effort in conjunction with the Board of Directors. The veteran leader will serve as Director of the council. “I’ve been fortunate to have many roles within the sport and I’m excited to add this venture into the fold,” Burton stated. “I’m humbled and honored that the drivers have asked me to help with this effort. I believe we have a great sport, and this council has the opportunity to work together with the entire industry to make it even better. Personally, I will also continue my work with NBC and provide fresh insight to our viewers at home. This new role with the council will only elevate the broadcasts.” To continue the steady enhancement of NASCAR, the Drivers Advisory Council will partner with the sanctioning body and its key leaders to achieve common success.

“Collaboration is critical to our growth, and we welcome any opportunity to strengthen communication with our drivers,” said Steve O’Donnell, NASCAR Executive Vice President and Chief Racing Development Officer. “We often look to drivers for input when making decisions that affect the sport, and the Drivers Advisory Council will help streamline that communication. Working together, we will continue to deliver the great NASCAR racing experience our fans expect and deserve.”

In addition, the Race Team Alliance (RTA), consisting of 14 Cup Series organizations, will support and work alongside the council.

Speed51 Icon

The Race Team Alliance welcomes the creation of the Drivers Advisory Council. As the RTA has done for the teams, the Drivers Council can become a forum for the Drivers to share and address common concerns and work with NASCAR and the Teams on a collaborative basis. And, Jeff Burton as the "mayor" is a natural to lead this new organization. I'm looking forward to working with Jeff on initiatives important to both of our organizations.

Jonathan Marshall, Executive Director of the RTA

“One of the keys to our sport being successful is collaboration among all of its stakeholders. Having a formalized group through which the drivers can better communicate will be a great asset for all of us. They picked the perfect guy to lead the Drivers Advisory Council in Jeff Burton and have assembled a solid Board of Directors to get the group started with a strong, unified voice,” said Dave Alpern, President of Joe Gibbs Racing and co-Chair of the Team Owner Council.