Jimmie Johnson Caps Off NASCAR 75 Greatest Drivers List

The seven-time NASCAR Cup Series champion was the final driver announced to the prestigious list on Thursday evening.


hero image for Jimmie Johnson Caps Off NASCAR 75 Greatest Drivers List

On Thursday, NASCAR made the final NASCAR 75 Greatest Drivers list driver announcement. While NASCAR opted to announce seven-time NASCAR Cup Series champion Jimmie Johnson last, it was no surprise at all that he made the cut.

The addition of Johnson to the list was announced on FS1's Race Hub.

It was Chad Knaus that broke the news to Johnson, at a recent Garage 56 test at Le Mans, that he had made the 75 Greatest Drivers List.

Johnson absolutely dominated the NASCAR Cup Series during the decade of the 2000s, as he amassed 47 of his 83-career wins between his rookie season of 2002 and 2009.

Of his seven NASCAR Cup Series titles, five of them came in consecutive seasons from 2006 to 2010. For a time, it felt that nobody would be able to ever win a Cup Series championship again when Johnson and his crew chief Chad Knaus were stomping the field.

After his five-consecutive championship stretch, Johnson would reach the pinnacle of the sport two more times, in 2013 and 2016, to match Richard Petty and Dale Earnhardt as the only drivers in NASCAR history to score seven NASCAR Cup Series championships.

Now, Johnson joins both men on the NASCAR 75 Greatest Drivers List.

The 47-year-old, who is now a part-owner of the LEGACY MOTOR CLUB team in the NASCAR Cup Series, has competed in two NASCAR Cup Series events this season and is set to make a few more starts.

The NASCAR 75 Greatest Drivers List was created as a celebration of NASCAR's 75th anniversary season, and the list is comprised of the original 50 Greatest Drivers List that was formed in 1998, as well as 25 drivers selected this season.

Here is the Complete NASCAR 75 Greatest Drivers List

  • Bobby Allison
  • Davey Allison
  • Sam Ard
  • Buck Baker
  • Buddy Baker
  • Greg Biffle
  • Geoff Bodine
  • Neil Bonnett
  • Jeff Burton
  • Kurt Busch
  • Kyle Busch
  • Red Byron
  • Jerry Cook
  • Dale Earnhardt
  • Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  • Ralph Earnhardt
  • Carl Edwards
  • Bill Elliott
  • Chase Elliott
  • Richie Evans
  • Red Farmer
  • Tim Flock
  • A.J. Foyt
  • Harry Gant
  • Jeff Gordon
  • Denny Hamlin
  • Kevin Harvick
  • Ray Hendrick
  • Ron Hornaday Jr.
  • Jack Ingram
  • Ernie Irvan
  • Bobby Isaac
  • Dale Jarrett
  • Ned Jarrett
  • Junior Johnson
  • Kasey Kahne
  • Matt Kenseth
  • Brad Keselowski
  • Alan Kulwicki
  • Bobby Labonte
  • Terry Labonte
  • Randy LaJoie
  • Kyle Larson
  • Joey Logano
  • Fred Lorenzen
  • Tiny Lund
  • Sterling Marlin
  • Mark Martin
  • Hershel McGriff
  • Ryan Newman
  • Cotton Owens
  • Marvin Panch
  • Benny Parsons
  • David Pearson
  • Lee Petty
  • Richard Petty
  • Larry Phillips
  • Tim Richmond
  • Fireball Roberts
  • Ricky Rudd
  • Mike Stefanik
  • Tony Stewart
  • Marshall Teague
  • Herb Thomas
  • Martin Truex Jr.
  • Curtis Turner
  • Rusty Wallace
  • Darrell Waltrip
  • Joe Weatherly
  • Bob Welborn
  • Rex White
  • Glen Wood
  • Cale Yarborough
  • LeeRoy Yabrough

Photo Credit: Craig White / TobyChristie.com

RA Icon


Sign-up for our free newsletter and join our growing racing community...