Florida Flashback: February 16

Start your Wednesday with a look at Florida Speedweeks past.


hero image for Florida Flashback: February 16

Sweet 16? For some drivers, there have definitely been some sweet memories made on February 16 during Florida Speedweeks. Here is a look at some of those moments in today's Florida Flashback.

1957 - Tim Flock was one of the best drivers on the old Daytona Beach and Road Course. On this date in 1957, Flock won the NASCAR Convertible division race after leading 18 laps from the pole. Joe Weatherly was second and Billy Myers was third. Flock had four NASCAR wins on the beach and posted top 10’s in 10 of his 18 starts.

THE THIRD TURN: 1957 NASCAR Convertible Division at Daytona Beach and Road Course

1969 and 1975 - February 16th was a special day for Benny Parsons during Speedweeks as he captured the ARCA 200 in 1969 and then the Daytona 500 six years later in 1975. Parsons led 109 of the 120 laps during his ARCA win over Iggy Katona in 1969. Parsons slipped past David Pearson in 1975 to lead the final three laps to win his only Daytona 500. Pearson of course would get revenge a year later and win the 500.

THE THIRD TURN: 1969 Daytona ARCA 300
THE THIRD TURN: 1975 Daytona 500

2002 - To win multiple races during New Smyrna Speedweeks is tough enough. However, in 2002, one driver did something that will be forever a page in history. Jason Boyd swept all nine nights of racing in the Limited Late Model Division that year during the World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing. Boyd’s finale came on this day in 2002, a win over Kirk Hooker and a second-place run in the Florida Modified race. Boyd had to win double races on the same night after an early week washout. What makes this all the more special is that no division runs nine nights in a row anymore.

THE THIRD TURN: 2002 World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing - Limited Late Models

2007, 2012, 2013 and 2014 - You think this date means a lot to Darrell Lanigan? On this date he won four races over the course of a seven year period. In 2007, he won a DIRTcar Nationals event at Volusia Speedway Park. In 2012, 2013 and 2014 he picked up World of Outlaw wins at Bubba Raceway Park. Lanigan has seven wins at Bubba Raceway, but three have come on this date.

-Photo credit: ISC Archives via Getty Images