Upcoming Events on

RATV white
Full Schedule

2025 NASCAR Hall of Fame Class Nominees Announced

Randy Dorton, Greg Biffle, Jack Sprague, Ray Hendrick, and Bob Welborn have made it onto the NASCAR Hall of Fame ballot for the first time.


hero image for 2025 NASCAR Hall of Fame Class Nominees Announced

On Wednesday, NASCAR officially announced the 15 nominees for the NASCAR Hall of Fame Class of 2025 (10 Modern Era Competitors, and Five Pioneers) as well as the five nominees for the Landmark Award for Outstanding Contributions to NASCAR.

Among the names appearing on the Modern Era ballot for the first time is Greg Biffle, a NASCAR Xfinity Series and NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series champion who also won 19 races in the NASCAR Cup Series over 14 full-time seasons.

Randy Dorton, the legendary Hendrick Motorsports engine builder from the team's inception in 1984 to his death in 2004, is also included as a first time nominee.

Jack Sprague, a three-time NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series champion and 28-time race winner in that series, was also listed on the ballot, marking his first time to be in consideration for the Hall as well.

As far as the Pioneer ballot goes, prolific NASCAR Modified racer Ray Hendrick, three-time NASCAR Convertible Division champion Bob Welborn, and Larry Phillips will make their first appearance on the ballot.

Phillips was on the Modern Era ballot 10 times, which is the maximum allotted. As a result, he was moved to the Pioneer ballot.

Dr. Dean Sicking, the inventor of the SAFER (Steel and Foam Energy Reduction) barrier has been added to the Landmark Award ballot for the first time as well.

Two Modern Era candidates and one Pioneer candidate will be elected as the Class of 2025 for the NASCAR Hall of Fame. And one person will be named as the 2025 Landmark Award recipient.

Here is the complete list of nominees for the NASCAR Hall of Fame Class of 2025. The Modern Era and Landmark Award nominees were selected by the NASCAR Hall of Fame Nomination Committee, which consists of representatives from NASCAR, the NASCAR Hall of Fame, track owners from major facilities and historic short tracks.

The Honors Committee, which is largely comprised of living Hall of Famers, Landmark Award winners and Squier-Hall Award winners, selected the nominees for the Pioneer ballot.

Modern Era Ballot

  • Greg Biffle
  • Neil Bonnett
  • Tim Brewer
  • Jeff Burton
  • Randy Dorton
  • Carl Edwards
  • Harry Gant
  • Harry Hyde
  • Ricky Rudd
  • Jack Sprague

Pioneer Ballot

  • Ray Hendrick
  • Banjo Matthews
  • Ralph Moody
  • Larry Phillips
  • Bob Welborn

Landmark Award

  • Alvin Hawkins
  • Lesa France Kennedy
  • Dr. Joseph Mattioli
  • Dr. Dean Sicking
  • Les Richter

The NASCAR Hall of Fame Voting Panel will cast their votes following an in-person discussion at the NASCAR Hall of Fame on Tuesday, May 21. The fans will also have a say in the selection process, as the fan vote on NASCAR.com will count toward the final ballot cast.

The fan vote is open now and will close on May 19 at 12:00 PM ET.

Photo Credit: Sherryl Creekmore, NASCAR

RA Icon


Sign-up for our free NASCAR & Grassroots racing newsletter...