Upcoming Events on

RATV white
Full Schedule

Silk Scores Memorable Win in NWMT Season Opener

After a fierce battle with Justin Bonsignore, it was Ron Silk holding The 1948 Cup in victory lane at New Smyrna.


hero image for Silk Scores Memorable Win in NWMT Season Opener

NASCAR's 75th Anniversary began with a race for the ages in its oldest division.

In a furious battle which included Justin Bonsignore and Matt Hirschman, Ron Silk stood victorious in the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour season opener at New Smyrna Speedway.

Silk and Bonsignore exchanged the lead over the final 10 laps, but ultimately Silk held on the win.

“I love this racetrack and we’ve been coming here for a long time," Silk told Racing America. "It feels good to win a Tour race here. We’re going to run a couple more this week with the Open stuff, so we’ll try to win another one.”

“It was a lot of fun. It was intense. It was aggressive, but I don’t think it was over the line. We were both able to keep going. It was a lot of fun. I knew I could race around Justin like that and trust him. I think he feels the same way about me. That was everything we had, I couldn’t go any harder.”

Silk took the lead on lap 169, sliding past Bonsignore just before Bonsignore and Coby made contact in turn one, triggering a multi-car incident. Bonsignore and Coby both carried on and salvaged top-five finishes, but that proved to be the opening Silk needed to capitalize.

The victory marks Silk’s 18th career NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour victory. The 2011 series champion last won on the Tour in 2021 at Oswego Speedway.

It also marks his first win with Haydt Yannone Racing after joining the team during the 2022 season.

“This is my first Tour win with this team, too. Last year, we ran with them and had some really good runs, seconds and thirds, but couldn’t get over the hump."

Between the fierce battle, the milestone achievement for Silk and his team, and celebrating the birth and birthplace of NASCAR by receiving the one-of-a-kind 1948 Cup in victory lane, it was a night to remember.

“With the 75th anniversary, being 1948 when they ran the first one on the beach, it’s awesome to have our name associated with that anniversary."

Bonsignore finished second, with Hirschman rounding out the podium. Anthony Sesely and Doug Coby rounded out the top five.


  1. Ron Silk
  2. Justin Bonsignore
  3. Matt Hirschman
  4. Anthony Sesely
  5. Doug Coby
  6. Jake Johnson
  7. Dave Sapienza
  8. Austin Beers
  9. Anthony Nocella
  10. Tommy Catalano
  11. Tyler Rypkema
  12. Kyle Ebersole
  13. Spencer Davis
  14. Joey Coulter
  15. Justin Brown
  16. J.B. Fortin
  17. Jeremy Gerstner
  18. Craig Lutz
  19. Kyle Bonsignore
  20. James Pritchard
  21. Ken Heagy
  22. Gary McDonald
  23. Ronnie Williams
  24. Jon McKennedy
  25. Andrew Krause
  26. Brian Robie
  27. Eric Goodale
  28. Jimmy Blewett
  29. Eddie McCarthy
  30. J.R. Bertuccio
  31. Anthony Bello
  32. Matthew Kimball
  33. Melissa Fifield
  34. Patrick Emerling
  35. Chris Hatton