Upcoming Events on

RATV white
Full Schedule

William Byron On Pole For ASA STARS at Hickory After Top-8 Redraw, Matthew Craig to Start Second

William Byron will start from the pole for ASA STARS Tar Heel 250 after the top-8 redraw. Matthew Craig, the fastest qualifier, will roll from the second position.


hero image for William Byron On Pole For ASA STARS at Hickory After Top-8 Redraw, Matthew Craig to Start Second

Matthew Craig turned the fastest lap in qualifying for the ASA STARS National Tour Tar Heel 250 at Hickory Motor Speedway with a lap time of 14.495 seconds. The driver of the No. 54 entry was 0.044 sec. faster than Gio Ruggiero.

After the top-eight positions were put into a re-draw, NASCAR Cup Seris star William Byron was awarded the pole position for Thursday night's race. Byron had turned the sixth-fastest lap in qualifying for the event.

"Well, I've been pulling eights recently, so, I guess it works out," Byron joked after pulling the pole position.

While it was a fortunate pull in the re-draw for Byron, he'll have to hold off Craig, the fastest man in qualifying, as Craig drew P2 in the re-draw.

"Yeah, that's not bad at all," Craig said following his draw. "That's pretty good. I'll take it."

Ruggiero will lineup from the third position, while Casey Roderick, Cole Butcher, Jesse Love, Caden Kvapil, and Kodie Conner will round out the top-eight starters in Thursday night's ASA STARS National Tour Tar Heel 250.

Other notable drivers and their starting positions for this event include Ty Majeski (ninth), Chase Elliott (10th), Stephen Nasse (11th), and North Wilkesboro Speedway race winner Bubba Pollard (14th).

The Tar Heel 250 is being broadcasted on Racing America, click here to purchase a PPV Pass to watch the race.

ASA STARS Tar Heel 250 Starting Lineup

124William Byron
254Matthew Craig
322Gio Ruggiero
418Casey Roderick
528Cole Butcher
620Jesse Love
732Caden Kvapil
845Kodie Conner
991Ty Majeski
109eChase Elliott
1151nStephen Nasse
1214hCarson Hocevar
1398Blaine Rocha
1426Bubba Pollard
1514nAustin Nason
1669Michael Hinde
177Jackson Boone
1833fAlbert Francis
1951fJake Finch
2050Jett Noland
2190Ross Strmiska
2223Billy VanMeter
2333sDustin Smith
2465Tyler Tanner
2508Tony Elrod

Photo Credit: Will Bellamy, Racing America

RA Icon


Sign-up for our free NASCAR & Grassroots racing newsletter...