Upcoming Events on

RATV white
Full Schedule

Top 50 Drivers in Oxford 250 History - No. 50 - 46

Leading up to the 50th Oxford 250, we will unveil the 50 best drivers in the history of the crown jewel Super Late Model event.


hero image for Top 50 Drivers in Oxford 250 History - No. 50 - 46

Every year since 1974, Oxford Plains Speedway in Maine has hosted the Oxford 250. The event has seen many different forms, cars, drivers and sanctioning bodies over the years, but it has also seen plenty of star power during that time.

In celebration of the 50th Annual Oxford 250 taking place on August 25-27, 2023, Racing America has assembled a ranking of the top 50 drivers in the history of the event. We will unveil them in installments leading up to the big weekend in August, where you can watch the Oxford 250 here on Racing America if you are unable to attend the golden anniversary event in person.

This week, we look at positions 46 through 50 in our Oxford 250 ranking.

50 - Mike Hopkins

StartsTop 5sTop 10sBest Finish
5th (2019, 2020)

Hopkins has scaled back his PASS appearances in recent years while picking up more races in the south, but the Hermon, Maine driver was starting to find his stride at Oxford at the turn of the decade. He earned the seventh starting spot for the 2017 Oxford 250, then rattled off three straight top-10 finishes between 2018 and 2020.

In his most recent Oxford 250 start in 2020, Hopkins even led 35 laps during the feature race before finishing fifth. Hopkins took the lead from Jeff Taylor just before the lap 100 mark and led until lap 129.

THE THIRD TURN: Mike Hopkins at the Oxford 250

49 – Richie Dearborn

Top 5s
Top 10s
Best Finish
3rd (2014)

Dearborn’s appearances at the Oxford 250 were sporadic, attempting the race eight times between 1999 and 2015. As with many drivers, he struggled early on, finishing 38th as a rookie in 1999 and 20th in 2001 before failing to qualify in 2003 and 2004.

However, he showed plenty of tenacity during his next three Oxford 250s. Dearborn drove from 30th to fourth in 2005 for his first top-five finish in the event and improved from 32nd to 12th in 2006. After several years away from the event, Dearborn was the hard charger of the 2014 Oxford 250, moving from 40th to third.

THE THIRD TURN: Richie Dearborn at the Oxford 250

48 – Kenny Wright

Top 5s
Top 10s
Best Finish

5th (1997, 1998)

Kenny Wright won five races and the 1998 championship in the Northeast Pro Stock Association, a series which evolved from the remains of the ACT Pro Stock Tour and operated from 1996 to 2001. The series sanctioned the 1997 Oxford 250, where Wright finished fifth.

While NEPSA did not return to Oxford in 1998, Wright again finished fifth that year in the Oxford 250, charging from the 35th starting position.

THE THIRD TURN: Kenny Wright at the Oxford 250

47 – George Summers

StartsTop 5sTop 10sBest Finish
4222nd (1975)

George Summers is better known as an accomplished Modified racer, particularly at Seekonk Speedway. It is widely believed Summers is the all-time wins leader at “The Cement Palace” with more than 100 victories to his name.

However, Summers took part in the first four Oxford 250s as well. Summers finished third in the inaugural Oxford 250, won by Joey Kourafas with John Rosati finishing second. One year later, Summers was runner-up to another legendary New England racer, Dave Dion.

THE THIRD TURN: George Summers at the Oxford 250

46 – Jeff Taylor

StartsTop 5sTop 10sBest Finish
203112nd (1995, 2012, 2020)

Only Dave Dion and Mike Rowe have more top-10 finishes in the Oxford 250 than Jeff Taylor, with Taylor finding the top 10 in more than half of his Oxford 250 starts. He’s also a nine-time track champion at Oxford Plains Speedway.

Three times, Taylor has finished second in the Oxford 250. In 1995, he led 163 of the 301 laps but finished behind Dave Whitlock. In 2012, Taylor finished second to Joey Polewarczyk, Jr. Taylor finished second to Johnny Clark in heartbreaking fashion in 2020. Fearing he had left a closed pit exit during the final round of stops, Taylor self-imposed a drive-through penalty rather than forcing race officials to make a tough decision. Taylor had led 92 laps in that race, but could not chase Clark back down to battle for the win.

THE THIRD TURN: Jeff Taylor at the Oxford 250

Gallery image 0.

Mike Hopkins finished fifth in his two most recent appearances at the Oxford 250, in 2019 and 2020.

Gallery image 1.

Richie Dearborn (left) finished third in the 2014 Oxford 250, behind Travis Benjamin (center) and Austin Theriault (right). (Photo - Pro All Stars Series)

Gallery image 2.

Only Dave Dion and Mike Rowe have more top-10 finishes in the Oxford 250 than Jeff Taylor.