Upcoming Events on

RATV white
Full Schedule

Top 50 Drivers in Oxford 250 History - No. 30 - 26

We reach the halfway mark of our Top 50 countdown and introduce five more names to the list of Oxford greats.


hero image for Top 50 Drivers in Oxford 250 History - No. 30 - 26

Every year since 1974, Oxford Plains Speedway in Maine has hosted the Oxford 250. The event has seen many different forms, cars, drivers and sanctioning bodies over the years, but it has also seen plenty of star power during that time.

In celebration of the 50th Annual Oxford 250 taking place on August 25-27, 2023, Racing America has assembled a ranking of the top 50 drivers in the history of the event. We will unveil them in installments leading up to the big weekend in August, where you can watch the Oxford 250 here on Racing America if you are unable to attend the golden anniversary event in person.

We introduce five more names to the list and close in on the halfway mark in our Top 50 countdown with this week's addition.

Top 50 Drivers in Oxford 250 History: 50-46 | 45-41 | 40-36 | 35-31

30 – Bubba Pollard

StartsTop 5sTop 10s
Best Finish
1st (2018)

There was no questioning Bubba Pollard’s resume when he first arrived at Oxford Plains Speedway in 2018. However, it’d be understandable if you questioned his chances of beating the Northeast’s best Super Late Model competition on their turf in an event as unique and packed with talent as the Oxford 250.

Nevertheless, Pollard charged from 29th to the win in his Oxford 250 debut, adding another crown jewel victory to his list of accomplishments. Pollard’s been back every year since, with mixed results, and once again plans to return in 2023 looking for a second Oxford 250 victory.

29 – Roger Brown

Top 5s
Top 10s
Best Finish
1st (2007)

Another driver who won in his first Oxford 250 appearance, Roger Brown accomplished the feat in 2007. Hailing from New Hampshire, Brown had two career ACT Late Model Tour wins prior to his big win in the Oxford 250.

In the 2007 win, Brown started 30th in a field of 44 cars that year. While Brown led all but one of the final 109 laps, he held off a charge from Dale Verrill in the closing laps for the win. He returned in 2008, 2010 and 2012, with a best finish of 22nd in 2008.

28 – Kevin Harvick

StartsTop 5sTop 10sBest Finish
1111st (2008)

Kevin Harvick is batting 1.000 in the Oxford 250. He took part in the event in 2008, taking the checkered flag that year, and has not been back to the event since then.

Harvick’s 2008 appearance came during an off weekend for the NASCAR Cup Series, between races at Chicagoland Speedway and Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Harvick dominated the second half of the race to take the win and add his name to the Oxford 250 record books.

27 – Dave Whitlock

StartsTop 5sTop 10sBest Finish
4111st (1995)

Dave Whitlock may have been one of Oxford Plains Speedway’s biggest fans in 1995. The ACT Pro Stock Tour visited the track four times that year, and Whitlock won three of those four races. Of course, the final of those three wins came in that year’s Oxford 250.

Making his third Oxford 250 start, Whitlock rolled off 11th and led 76 laps, taking the win ahead of Jeff Taylor and Tracy Gordon. He would make just one more start in the event, finishing 25th in 1996.

26 – Larry Gelinas

StartsTop 5sTop 10sBest Finish
16351st (1996)

Larry Gelinas would eventually become a race-winning driver in both the Pro All Stars Series and Granite State Pro Stock Series, as well as a multi-time track champion at Lee USA Speedway. Before all of that, however, he was the surprise winner of the 1996 Oxford 250.

Gelinas started on the pole for the race that year, but Stan Meserve led the first eight laps before turning over the top spot to Tracy Gordon. Gelinas would not see the lead again until Ben Rowe ran out of fuel with three laps remaining, but Gelinas led the most important three laps to take the win.

Gelinas added fifth-place finishes in 2002 and 2003, as well as top-10 finishes in 1997 and 2000, but 1996 will always stand as one of the memorable Oxford 250s.

-Featured Photo Credit: Leif Tillotson

Gallery image 0.

Bubba Pollard takes his victory lap after winning the Oxford 250 in 2018.

Gallery image 1.

Kevin Harvick celebrates his Oxford 250 victory in 2008. (Photo credit: Trudy Marshall/Oxford Plains Speedway)