Upcoming Events on

RATV white
Full Schedule

Top 50 Drivers in Oxford 250 History - No. 25 - 21

We break into the top 25 of the ranking with this week's edition, introducing you to five more great winners of this historic event.


hero image for Top 50 Drivers in Oxford 250 History - No. 25 - 21

Every year since 1974, Oxford Plains Speedway in Maine has hosted the Oxford 250. The event has seen many different forms, cars, drivers and sanctioning bodies over the years, but it has also seen plenty of star power during that time.

In celebration of the 50th Annual Oxford 250 taking place on August 25-27, 2023, Racing America has assembled a ranking of the top 50 drivers in the history of the event. We will unveil them in installments leading up to the big weekend in August, where you can watch the Oxford 250 here on Racing America if you are unable to attend the golden anniversary event in person.

We break into the top 25 of the ranking with this week's edition, introducing you to five more great winners of this historic event.

Top 50 Drivers in Oxford 250 History: 50-46 | 45-41 | 40-36 | 35-31 | 30-26

25 – Wayne Helliwell, Jr.

StartsTop 5sTop 10sBest Finish
10241st (2016)

A three-time ACT champion with 14 career wins in the series, Wayne Helliwell, Jr. is a familiar name to racing fans in the Northeast. He enjoyed a nice run of success at the Oxford 250 through the 2010s, culminating in victory in 2016.

In 2012, Helliwell finished fourth after starting eighth, leading 42 laps in the race. He finished seventh in 2015as the event transitioned to the PASS banner, leading a large chunk of the first half of the race that year.

In 2016, Helliwell flipped the script, taking the lead late from Travis Benjamin after battling side-by-side for several laps. Benjamin kept within striking distance, but Helliwell held on for the checkered flag.


24 – Scott Robbins

StartsTop 5sTop 10sBest Finish
20341st (2002)

Perhaps one of the most impressive accomplishments for Robbins in the Oxford 250 is his record of simply making the show. Even during the years where the list of drivers who failed to qualify for the event was often as long as the drivers who made the race, Robbins has qualified for the Oxford 250 through its unique format 20 out of 21 times.

The peak of Robbins’ success in the event came in 2002, when he led 118 laps to take the win. This came one year after a runner-up finish in the 2001 Oxford 250. Robbins also has a pole position to his credit, as he led the field to the green flag in 2008.

23 – Glen Luce

StartsTop 5sTop 10sBest Finish


1st (2015)

Glen Luce has six PASS Super Late Model Series wins in his career, but none were bigger than his Oxford 250 triumph in 2015. That year, Luce charged from the 22nd starting position to lead the final 50 laps, taking the win ahead of Reid Lanpher and Ben Lynch. Another cool note about Luce's victory in 2015 is that his son-in-law Joe Pastore was spotting for him that day.

Interestingly enough, the 2015 win was not even Luce’s biggest charge through an Oxford 250 field. In 2008, he started 38th in a field of 41 cars, finishing second only to Kevin Harvick at day’s end. Luce also finished 10th in 2016, leading 39 laps that year.

22 – Kyle Busch

StartsTop 5sTop 10sBest Finish


1st (2011)

“Rowdy” has made just three appearances in the Oxford 250, but he led laps every time he went to the event and won the race in 2011.

In his first appearance in 2005, Busch started 28th and raced his way up to sixth, leading 61 laps along the way. He led another 12 laps in 2006, but fell out of the race roughly 100 laps shy of its conclusion. Everything came together for Busch five years later in 2011, as he led 68 laps and took the top spot from Jeff Taylor with 24 laps to go for the win.

21 – Cassius Clark

Top 5s
Top 10s
Best Finish
1st (2021)

15 starts, 4 top 5s, 7 top 10s, 2021

For the better part of a decade, Cassius Clark knocked on the door of Oxford 250 victory lane repeatedly. Between 2013 and 2019, Clark only finished outside the top eight once (due to a DNF in 2018) and led a total of 194 laps.

Finally, in his ninth start and 14th attempt at the Oxford 250, Clark sealed the deal in 2021. Clark led 68 laps in that year’s event, holding off the likes of Derek Griffith and Curtis Gerry for the elusive and popular win.

-Featured Photo Credit: Racing America

Gallery image 0.

Wayne Helliwell, Jr. (27) and Travis Benjamin (7) battle for the win in the 2016 Oxford 250 (Pro All Stars Series photo)

Gallery image 1.

Glen Luce pulls into victory lane following the 2015 Oxford 250. (Pro All Stars Series photo)

Gallery image 2.

Cassius Clark won in his 14th attempt at the Oxford 250 in 2021. (Racing America photo)