Upcoming Events on

RATV white
Full Schedule

Top 50 Drivers in Oxford 250 History - No. 1

To wrap up our Top 50 countdown, we present the top driver in our ranking, three-time Oxford 250 winner Mike Rowe.


hero image for Top 50 Drivers in Oxford 250 History - No. 1

Every year since 1974, Oxford Plains Speedway in Maine has hosted the Oxford 250. The event has seen many different forms, cars, drivers and sanctioning bodies over the years, but it has also seen plenty of star power during that time.

In celebration of the 50th Annual Oxford 250 taking place on August 25-27, 2023, Racing America has assembled a ranking of the top 50 drivers in the history of the event. We will unveil them in installments leading up to the big weekend in August, where you can watch the Oxford 250 here on Racing America if you are unable to attend the golden anniversary event in person.

To wrap up our Top 50 countdown, we present the top driver in our ranking, three-time Oxford 250 winner Mike Rowe.

Top 50 Drivers in Oxford 250 History: 50-46 | 45-41 | 40-36 | 35-31 | 30-26 | 25-21 | 20-16 | 15-11 | 10-6 | 5-4 | 3-2

1 - Mike Rowe

StartsTop 5sTop 10sBest Finish
3911131st (1984, 1997, 2005)

No one has won more races at Oxford Plains Speedway than Mike Rowe. With a win earlier this season in Oxford Championship Series competition, Rowe is credited with 153 wins at the Maine bullring.

Rowe has been in the starting field for 39 of the first 49 Oxford 250s, an impressive testament to his ability, consistency and perseverance to this point in his career. He hopes to make it an even 40 this year, as he is once again entered for the Oxford 250.

Rowe’s 11 top-five finishes are also a top mark among Oxford 250 competitors. His 13 top-10s are second only to Dave Dion, with 18. And of course, Rowe is one of four drivers with three Oxford 250 wins, making up three of those 153 career wins at the track.

The first Oxford 250 win came in 1984, when the event was part of the NASCAR Stroh’s Tour. Rowe led 47 laps to take the win ahead of Robbie Crouch and Butch Lindley.

Mike Rowe scored his second Oxford 250 win in 1997, finishing ahead of Tracy Gordon and Gary Drew. The 13 years between Rowe’s first and second Oxford 250 victories remain the longest amount of time between victories in the event for a driver.

The wait may not have been as long for the third win in 2005, but it did not come without its own record-breaking performance. This time, Rowe won the Last Chance Qualifier to start 37th in the 40 car field. He worked his way through the field, taking the lead from Johnny Clark with 10 laps to go to become the third three-time Oxford 250 winner.

Mike Rowe celebrates his third Oxford 250 victory in 2005. (Oxford Plains Speedway photo)

Rowe has won at least one race in 25 different seasons at Oxford Plains Speedway following his victory earlier this season. That breaks a tie with Al Hammond for most seasons with at least one win at the track in Super Late Model competition. He is also a seven-time track champion, giving him one of the most decorated resumes in the history of both the Oxford 250 and Oxford Plains Speedway.

-Featured photo credit: Racing America

Oxford Plains Speedway Logo

Watch on RacingAmerica.TV

April 27-28: Opening Weekend Doubleheader at Oxford Plains