Upcoming Events on

RATV white
Full Schedule

Throwback Thursday - January 26

Chase Elliott was a SpeedFest winner on this day in 2014.


hero image for Throwback Thursday - January 26

On this day in 1947, Red Byron took his '39 Ford to victory on the sands of Daytona Beach, Florida. NASCAR had not yet been formed and the National Stock Car Racing Association sanctioned this event. Byron would win other events with this series, but Bob Flock won the next two on the beach with them. According to the history on TheThirdTurn.com, the series' last race was in 1948 when Curtis Turner won at Bowman Gray.

- Speaking of sandy areas, AJ Foyt won the USAC Sprint car race at the Arizona State Fairgrounds in Phoenix on this day in 1964. AJ Foyt won five times with the series in 1964 and the track would close in 1965.

To this day, the late Pete Orr is the only Super Late Model driver to win the Orange Blossom 100 in three straight years. Back in 1991, he started his run as he bested the high banks at New Smyrna Speedway (FL). He came back again in 1992 and 1993 to keep his streak alive. He won the race one more time in 2000 at the same venue. The race started in the 1960s at Palm Beach Fairgrounds Speedway and is now the Super Late Model finale night of the World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing.

- In the early days of SpeedFest, Floridian driver Jeff Choquette won the event on the high banks of USA International Speedway (FL). Choquette started second and held off a deep field to win the final SpeedFest at USA International. Choquette would win again in 2013.

THE THIRD TURN: 2008 SpeedFest 200 at USA International Speedway

- Back in 2014, Chase Elliott won the SpeedFest event for the second time in his career. The win came after leading 110 laps and beating Daniel Hemric for the trophy. Hemric and Elliott would both go on to win the NASCAR Xfinity Series titles in the coming years.

READ MORE: Chase Elliott Joins Star-Studded SpeedFest Field

THE THIRD TURN: 2014 SpeedFest 200 at Watermelon Capital Speedway

Crisp Motorsports Park Logo


SpeedFest 2024 at Crisp Motorsports Park - January 19-20