Throwback Thursday: Heating Up the Winter Break

Here is a look at some notable racing moments on January 20.


hero image for Throwback Thursday: Heating Up the Winter Break

Whether it's indoors in the Midwest or at sunny locales such as California, Florida or Arizona, racing doesn't stop in January.

Here is a look at some notable racing moments on January 20.

1952 - Tim Flock won the first-ever NASCAR event at the Palm Beach Speedway to kick off the 1952 season. This was Flock’s only win on the half-mile dirt track that would be paved before its final two NASCAR races in 1956. The track would hold short track events until it closed in 1983. Gary Balough and Dick Anderson won the last two All Pro Series races run there in 1983.

THE THIRD TURN: NASCAR Grand National: 1952-01

1963 - Dan Gurney beat the NASCAR stars at Riverside Speedway (CA) to start the 1963 season. Gurney’s win was also marked as a victory for the NASCAR Pacific Coast Late Model Series. They ran 10 races that year with several on the short tracks. You know it today as the ARCA Menards Series West division. Gurney led 120 of the 185 laps in the race and beat A.J. Foyt for the win.

THE THIRD TURN: 1963 Riverside 500

1974 - Larry Rice wins the second race of the 1974 USAC National Midget Car Series season at the Memorial Coliseum in Fort Wayne, Indiana. Rice had three wins that season in 40 events.

1996 - A 100-lap Midget Car win for Michael Lang happened on this date in 1996 at the RCA Dome in Indianapolis, Indiana. Lang passed Mike Bliss for the lead on the 43rd lap and beat such stars as Ken Schrader, Tony Stewart, Ryan Newman, Jack Hewitt and many others.

THE THIRD TURN: 1996 Thunder in the Dome

2005 - In a Dirt Late Model, Ken Schrader led 28 of 30 laps during the fourth night of action at Central Arizona Raceway (AZ). Schrader beat out Steve Francis, and Terry Phillips for the win. Francis would win the last two nights to win the six-race championship where he didn’t finish out of the top five.

THE THIRD TURN: 2005 Early Thaw Series at Central Arizona

2013 - Shane Clanton passed Billy Moyer for the win with 16-laps to go at the Tucson International Raceway in 2013. This was the sixth and final race of the Winter Extreme Season, which saw no repeat winners in 2013.

THE THIRD TURN: 2013 Winter Extreme at Tucson International Raceway