Upcoming Events on

RATV white
Full Schedule

Shelby Thompson Surges Into Montana 200 Record Books

Washington's Shelby Thompson finished ahead of a pair of Montana natives to score the victory in the 32nd running of the Montana 200.


hero image for Shelby Thompson Surges Into Montana 200 Record Books

Spokane, Washington’s Shelby Thompson added his name to the record books for one of the biggest races in the Northwest, taking the win in the 32nd Montana 200 at Mission Valley Super Oval Saturday night.

Thompson took the lead from Agni Howell on lap 164 of the 200-lap Super Late Model event, adding the Montana 200 to a resume that also includes the 2015 Apple Cup and the 2016 Leonard Evans Memorial 150.

“That was cool. That was a lot of fun," said Thompson in victory lane. "I just have to thank Todd Havens, the whole Havens family. Chuck Carruthers, dude, you know how to set up a race car. I just had to sit in the seat. That was awesome.”

While Thompson celebrated the victory, a pair of Montana drivers with more than a decade of experience in the Montana 200 left still searching for a win in their home state's biggest race.

Agni Howell, making his 15th start in the event, took the lead on lap 112 from Dave Garber. However, he was unable to hold off the charging Thompson and settled for a second-place finish.

“I feel disappointed,” said Howell. “My dream is to win this, and I mean it’s a real live, big, huge dream. I sacrificed everything I possibly can to do it, and I’ve done everything I know how to do.

“I’m really close. I’m disappointed, very disappointed, but also really grateful.”

Meanwhile, Alex Lessor finished in the third position, giving him three podium finishes in 16 starts at the Montana 200.

“We brought a brand new car to this race, so this was really impressive,” said Lessor. “I really want to win this race. I’ve had a couple of people compare this to our Daytona 500. I think it’s a little bit of a joke, but it’d be a big deal to win this race.”

Zachary Riehl finished fourth, with Garber completing the top five. Dillon Huffines, Zander Peters, Danica Dart, Cory Wolfe and Kaidyn Moran rounded out the top 10.

The 32nd Montana 200 marked the third race in the event's time at Mission Valley Super Oval. The event took place every year between 2001 and 2019 at Montana Raceway Park before that venue closed, and found its new home at Mission Valley for the 2021 season. B.J. Tidrick had won both runnings of the Montana 200 at Mission Valley prior to Saturday night.

32nd Montana 200 Race Results

15Shelby Thompson200---
21Agni Howell2001.771
353Alex Lessor2002.376
47RZachary Riehl2003.714
593Dave Garber2004.176
67HDillon Huffines2007.015
769Zander Peters2007.127
811Danica Dart2007.853
912Cory Wolfe20011.700
105Kaidyn Moran1991 Lap
117JJake Booher18020 Laps
1297Jason Jefferson17822 Laps
1354Grant Thompson12674 Laps
1474RJason Robinson67133 Laps
1522Justin JD Undem67133 Laps
1666Jeff Smyth59141 Laps
1710Jon Davisson36164 Laps
1892Levie Jones32168 Laps
1954CTristan Corpron21179 Laps
2025Jeff Hillock17183 Laps

Photo Credit: Dishaw Photography, Kyle Dishaw

RA Icon


Sign-up for our free NASCAR & Grassroots racing newsletter...