Upcoming Events on

RATV white
Full Schedule

Riggs Disqualified From CARS Tour at Caraway, Fryar Declared Winner

Jared Fryar has been declared the winner of the CARS Late Model Stock Tour event at Caraway following a disqualification of the No. 62 entry for Kevin Harvick, Inc.


hero image for Riggs Disqualified From CARS Tour at Caraway, Fryar Declared Winner

Layne Riggs has been disqualified following post-race inspection for the CARS Tour's event at Caraway Speedway Wednesday night. Jared Fryar is now the winner of the event.

According to a statement from the CARS Tour, officials discovered a discrepancy with Layne Riggs' No. 62 Kevin Harvick, Inc. entry during the inspection process.

"Following the CARS Tour LMSC event at Caraway Speedway on Wednesday night, officials found a part that was over tolerance on Layne Riggs' winning car in post-race inspection," reads the statement. "Riggs' team, Kevin Harvick, Inc., admitted to an unintentional oversight involving the part and CARS Tour management accepted that explanation."

"As a result, Riggs has been disqualified and the finishing order will be amended to show Jared Fryar receiving the first-place payout. The purse distribution for the rest of the finishing order will be adjusted accordingly."

Rodney Childers, crew chief for Layne Riggs' No. 62 as well as Kevin Harvick's Stewart-Haas Racing No. 4 in the NASCAR Cup Series, offered his explanation on social media.

"I know everyone will say it's cheating and pushing the limits. But hand on my heart, I had no idea that you couldn't run big end sway bar ends in the CARS Tour," wrote Childers. "This was something that has zero competitive advantage and [I] would have never done if I knew.

"Sway bars are like springs. They only have a rate and they twist. Even though the bar had big ends, it was not a high rate bar. The car would have handled exactly the same with smaller ends and a bigger center.

"I apologize to everyone involved. It puts everyone in a bad spot and looks bad. I take full responsibility and will find a rulebook and read it more carefully. I feel horrible for Layne, he didn't deserve this. He did an incredible job. Congrats to Jared, he had a great car also."

Fryar is now a four-time race winner on the CARS Late Model Stock Tour. He won the Tour's Super Late Model championship in 2018, as well as the Late Model Stock title in 2020.

Kevin Harvick, along with Dale Earnhardt, Jr., Jeff Burton and Justin Marks, is part of a new ownership group for the CARS Tour in the 2023 season. Harvick also made his CARS Tour debut driving the No. 62 at North Wilkesboro Speedway, part of the rebirth of Kevin Harvick, Inc. this year.

Riggs was making his first start for Kevin Harvick, Inc. at Caraway, after competing primarily with his family-operated team in Late Model Stock competition throughout his career. Riggs won the NASCAR Advance Auto Parts Weekly Series National Championship in 2022 and is a six-time CARS Tour Late Model Stock winner, finishing second in points in 2020.

-Photo credit: Will Bellamy/Racing America