Upcoming Events on

RATV white
Full Schedule

Max Cookson Digs Deep for Boss Hogg 150 Win

The Kulwicki Driver Development Program Finalist held off Mike Hopkins for the $10,000 win at Wiscasset Speedway


hero image for Max Cookson Digs Deep for Boss Hogg 150 Win

Max Cookson picked up a $10,000 payday on Sunday, winning the Boss Hogg 150 at Wiscasset Speedway.

Cookson took the lead from Josh St. Clair on lap 85 of the 150-lap race at the Maine facility, then held off a fierce challenge from Mike Hopkins to secure the victory.

“We had a game plan going into it,” said Cookson in victory lane. “We took the lead on that restart. Ol’ Hoppy got up there, hats off to him racing me clean as ever. That’s how it should be done. Rub a little vinyl on the things, that’s how racing should be done.”

Hopkins passed St. Clair for second with 35 laps to go and chased down Cookson to contend for the lead, and briefly had position to Cookson’s inside in the side-by-side battle, but Cookson fought back on the outside line to maintain the lead and pull away.

“All night I felt like the car took off after 10 laps. [Hopkins] got us there once, and there was a hole behind him, but I just let it dig up top and I was able to fend him off and drive away at the end.”

Hopkins now has six consecutive podium finishes in the Boss Hogg race, including wins in 2018 and 2022. The veteran racer felt his car was a little too tight to truly compete for the win, but enjoyed the battle and respect with Cookson.

“I knew it was going to be a battle. We’ve given three or four away this year, we just got too tight. Congrats to Max, that was a hell of a race between me, him and Josh. If I’m going to lose a race, I want to lose to him. That was cool.

“Second sucks, right, but it’s still a solid day. It’s better than a lot of other cars. Finishing on the podium here six years in a row is still great.”

Ryan Kuhn finished third, followed by St. Clair and Angelo Belsito.

Cookson, St. Clair, Trevor Sanborn, Dave Farrington, Jr. won the four heat races to start the day of Pro Stock racing at Wiscasset. Andy Gilbert and Evan Beaulieu won a pair of Consi races that completed the 32-car field.

-Photo credit: Will Bellamy/Racing America


139Max Cookson150---
215HMike Hopkins1501.587
372Ryan Kuhn1503.257
414Josh St. Clair1503.800
58Angelo Belsito1505.407
699Ben Ashline1507.540
729TAustin Teras1508.161
8N40Dan McKeage, Jr.1508.421
994Garrett Hall1508.836
1018Kevin Douglass15010.456
1141Logan Melcher15013.009
1228J.R. Robinson15014.150
1301Jett Decker15015.897
1409XJeremy Davis1491 Lap
1544Trevor Sanborn1491 Lap
1656Evan Beaulieu1482 Laps
1797Joey Polewarczyk1482 Laps
1884Jamie Wright1482 Laps
1944PRusty Poland1482 Laps
2029LRyan Littlefield1473 Laps
2147Kelly Moore11535 Laps
2281Brian Lancaster11436 Laps
2315Nick Hinkley9951 Laps
2421CShane Clark9852 Laps
2520Joe Pastore9852 Laps
2623Dave Farrington, Jr.8466 Laps
2738Daniel Harding5595 Laps
2817Andy Gilbert43107 Laps
2907Nick Calvert38112 Laps
304Connor Wenners25125 Laps
3151Ryan St. Clair21129 Laps
3211BMatt Beers17133 Laps