Upcoming Events on

RATV white
Full Schedule

Masters of the Pros 184 Entry List Shows Highly Competitive Field Expected Saturday

The entry list features drivers from all across the region, including Template Late Model Veterans, up-and-coming NASCAR stars, and future household names.


hero image for Masters of the Pros 184 Entry List Shows Highly Competitive Field Expected Saturday

One of the most prestigious Pro Late Model events of the summer is set to unfold Saturday at Owosso Speedway in Ovid, Michigan with the JEGS/CRA All-Stars Tour Presented by Chevrolet Performance. The 11th Annual Masters of the Pros 184 features 184 laps around Owosso Speedway to celebrate their 84th season of operation. The entry list features drivers from all across the region, including Template Late Model Veterans, up-and-coming NASCAR stars, and future household names.

In the 11th event, the Masters of the Pros finds another new home, the fifth track to welcome the event since its inception in 2013. The first five events were held at the Lebanon I-44 Speedway in Lebanon, MO. Chase Elliott, Anderson Bowen, John Hunter Nemechek (2), and Cole Williams won the Green Jackets and $10,000. In the sixth year, Birch Run Speedway & Event Center played host to the coveted jacket and big money. Bubba Pollard dominated the 2018 contest before following the event to Memphis International Raceway and winning again in 2019. The three most recent events were held at Nashville Fairgrounds Speedway with eventual All-American 400 winner Matt Craig grabbing the 2020 win and Willie Allen of Rackley WAR taking the checkers in 2021 and 2022.

This season, a continuously upgraded and freshly repaved Owosso Speedway welcomes the best Pro Late Model drivers in the region to the 3/8ths mile oval. A fan favorite and current contender for the NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series Championship, Carson Hocevar is expected to race in his Premier Security No.14. A six-time winner with the JEGS Tour, the Portage, Michigan native has yet to see Owosso Speedway since the repave.

Joining Hocevar as drivers known for their history racing on Michigan’s westside are a number of drivers who race weekly at Berlin Raceway. Evan Shotko, who just grabbed another $10K win over the weekend, will look to better his 15th-place finish there in June after a driveline failure. Belmont, Michigan’s Austin Hull, who currently sits fifth in Berlin Raceway Championship points standings will make his standalone JEGS/CRA All-Stars Tour debut. Prior to Saturday, Hull competed in a joint ASA/CRA Super Series and JEGS/CRA event at Berlin. Others from the westside include Wayland, Michigan’s, Dylan Stovall. In over a dozen events this season, Stovall has finished outside of the top ten just twice at tracks all across the state. Saturday’s Masters of the Pros will mark his first trip to Owosso in 2023.

A household name for fans of Owosso Speedway is Kyle Crump. The Brighton, Michigan driver got his start at Owosso before going on to become a Redbud 400 champion in 2021. Crump, who won the June race in the TK Racing No.71, will pilot the Crosstown Motorsports No.50 entry on Saturday. His quest for $10K will have to go through two-time JEGS/CRA All-Stars Tour Champion, Dan Leeck. After leading the opening laps, Leeck settled for second behind Crump. Chase Burda is also expected to be in contention for the win; the current JEGS Tour Points leader faced adversity in his first visit to Owosso Speedway after contact on the opening lap caused damage to the front of his car. After spinning later in the event, he drove back to a fifth-place finish.

Fans should also keep an eye on Ethan Stadniczuk who comes back to the JEGS Tour still riding momentum from his first career JEGS/CRA All-Stars Tour win at Birch Run Speedway last month. Kevin Cremonesi is looking forward to returning to Owosso, the home of his first career podium (3rd) finish with CRA. Plus, longtime Template Late Model competitors Micheal Simko, Steve Dorer, and Jimmy Tucker will unload on Saturday.

Additional details on the Masters of the Pros 184 on Saturday at Owosso Speedway can be found at www.CRA-Racing.com. Find CRA: Champion Racing Association on Facebook and follow @CRA Racing on Twitter.

-Story by: Zach Hiser/CRA
-Photo credit: Will Bellamy/Racing America

Masters of the Pros 184 Entry List

01James KreugerFort Wayne, IN
3Chris MunsonChelsea, MI
7David LiaeffHolland, OH
9Guy FireTaylor, MI
10Steve DorerLakeland, FL
12Dan LeeckBirch Run, MI
13Nick EganSlinger, WI
14Carson HocevarPortage, MI
15Brian DemlandHicksville, OH
18Chase burdaLapeer, MI
20Ethan StadniczukTaylor, MI
20Jeff VrsekCarleton, MI
20Austin HullBelmont, MI
22Jimmy TuckerMount Clemens, MI
22Evan ShotkoCoopersville, MI
24Dylan StovallWayland, MI
28Kevin CremonesiRochester Hills,MI
45Michael SimkoClarkston, MI
50Kyle CrumpBrighton, MI
61Brandon VarneyRichmond, MI
61Evan VarneyRichmond, MI