Upcoming Events on

RATV white
Full Schedule

Maine Legend Mike Rowe Wins in Oxford Championship Series SLM Feature

The 72-year-old driver now has 126 Super Late Model wins at Oxford Plains Speedway.


hero image for Maine Legend Mike Rowe Wins in Oxford Championship Series SLM Feature

The driver widely regarded as the king of short track racing in the state of Maine returned to victory lane Saturday night.

Mike Rowe, 72, won at Oxford Plains Saturday in the Oxford Championship Series Super Late Model feature. The win is Rowe’s first at Oxford Plains Speedway since 2018, where he now has 126 Super Late Model wins and more than 150 total feature wins.

Rowe is a seven-time track champion in Oxford Plains’ top division. Only Jeff Taylor (9) has more track championships than Rowe. At one point, Rowe won four consecutive Oxford Plains Speedway track championships between 1978 and 1981.

Rowe is also one of four drivers in the exclusive club of three-time winners in Oxford’s biggest race, the Oxford 250. Travis Benjamin, Dave Dion and Ralph Nason are other three-time Oxford 250 winners.

Mike Rowe celebrates his third Oxford 250 victory in 2005. (Oxford Plains Speedway photo)

Rowe has now won at least one race in 25 different seasons at Oxford Plains Speedway. That breaks a tie with Al Hammond for most seasons with at least one win at the track in Super Late Model competition.

Rowe has plenty of accomplishments outside of Oxford Plains Speedway as well. Rowe has won championships on the ACT Pro Stock Tour and both the Pro All Stars Series (PASS) North and PASS South Super Late Model tours.

Rowe will not have to wait long for his next chance to win at Oxford Plains. The Pro All Stars Series (PASS) Super Late Models race for 150 laps Sunday evening at the Maine facility, and Rowe (along with his son, Ben) are among the expected entries for the event. Fans unable to make the trip to Oxford Plains Speedway today can watch the PASS event live with a subscription to Racing America at 4 p.m. ET Sunday.

Ben Rowe has quite an accomplished career in his own right, with four PASS North, five PASS National championship and an ACT Late Model Tour championship to his credit. Ben Rowe is a two-time Oxford 250 winner.

Both Ben and Mike Rowe are also entered for the 50th Annual Spencer Group Paving Oxford 250 on August 25-27, looking to add to their resumes in the crown jewel event. Following the latest update to entries on Saturday, August 5, 66 competitors are currently listed as entries for the golden anniversary of the event. That event will also be broadcasted on Racing America.

Photo Credit: Oxford Plains Speedway