Upcoming Events on

RATV white
Full Schedule

Looking Back at Ben Rowe’s PASS North Start Streak

The 317th race in PASS North history was the first without Ben Rowe in the starting lineup.


hero image for Looking Back at Ben Rowe’s PASS North Start Streak

For the first time in more than 300 Pro All Stars Series (PASS) North Super Late Model Series events, Ben Rowe did not take the green flag when the series raced at Seekonk Speedway Wednesday night in the Bay State Classic.

Rowe, a four-time PASS North champion and five-time PASS National champion, parted ways with Richard Moody Racing following the series’ stop at White Mountain Motorsports Park on July 16.

Before Wednesday night, Rowe was the only driver to start every PASS North race since its inception in 2001. That year, Rowe won six out of 10 races, but the title went to a more consistent Sam Sessions, who finished in the top 10 in every race.

Arguably Rowe’s best season during this run was 2003. Rowe won eight of the 15 PASS North races that season, finishing on the podium an incredible 13 times. That success paved the way for his second consecutive PASS North title.

While it was not a PASS North race that year, Rowe also scored his first Oxford 250 triumph that year. Rowe also won the Oxford 250 in 2004, joining Geoff Bodine and Ralph Nason on the brief list of back-to-back winners in the event. Since then, only Eddie MacDonald and Travis Benjamin have matched the feat.

Most of these early successes came while driving for Tom Estes. Following the 2005 season, the partnership between Rowe and Richard Moody began. It immediately paid off with three wins during the 2006 PASS North season, as well as the PASS North championship in 2007.

The PASS National Championship was instituted in 2008, and no one has more PASS National Championship wins than Ben Rowe, with eight. He won the National Championship in 2009, 2011, 2014, 2016 and 2017, with all five of those titles coming with Richard Moody.

The duo also won the 2009 PASS South Super Late Model title, with four wins in 14 series events that year. All told, Ben Rowe has won at 22 different tracks under the PASS banner since 2001.

With a driver of Rowe’s capabilities, there will certainly be offers to get him back in action sooner rather than later. Rowe has made 24 starts in the Oxford 250, taking part in the event every year since 1996 except for 2011. We’ll see if an arrangement can be made in time for Oxford 250 appearance number 25 this August.