Looking Back at 10 Rattlers to Remember

A glance at memorable races from South Alabama's crown jewel.


hero image for Looking Back at 10 Rattlers to Remember

Since the first Rattler weekend in 1974, plenty of history has been made at South Alabama Speedway's marquee event. Here is a look at 10 of the most memorable Rattlers.

2007: Augie Grill got back by Hunter Robbins on the final lap of the Rattler 250 with both cars ending up crashing. For Grill, it was his first Rattler 250 win, and Robbins hasn’t been that close since. There were no post-race fireworks as both drivers left it all on the track.

1978: There was just something about Dave Mader, III in 1978. Mader would win the Rattler in 1978, which was a 100-lap race, and then later that season he won the Snowball Derby. This was the first time a driver won both races in the same year. It would not happen again until 2007 when Augie Grill did it, and then again in 2020 with Ty Majeski.

2011: Chase Elliott led a race-high 158 laps but ended up fifth after a black-flag penalty late in the race. Elliott and Pollard were battling with Grant Enfinger for the lead when Elliott made contact with Enfinger which pushed him up into Pollard sending the Georgia driver for a spin. Enfinger then held off Donnie Wilson for his second Rattler 250 win.

2014: With several strong contenders like Bubba Pollard, Augie Grill and Daniel Hemric all having problems while leading the race, it seemed like it was an unsafe place to be. By the time Casey Roderick got there, he was the class of the field with the heavy hitters struggling to make the distance.

2006: When we think of the Rattler, we think 250 laps, but it was not until 2006 when the race was run at this distance for the first time. Ryan Crane would win the race after leading only 11 laps. Augie Grill led a race high 150 laps. Ricky Turner was second and Charlie Bradberry was third.

2008: With fresh asphalt, Grant Enfinger won the Rattler 250 over Wayne Anderson who led 158 laps at South Alabama Speedway. Casey Smith was the defending track champion, but he was wrecked before lap 200 ending his bid. Korey Ruble finished third running the whole race on one set of tires.

2001: At the time, it was impressive because he was the only one to have done it. Ronnie Sanders became the first three-time Rattler winner at South Alabama Speedway. Sanders won three times in three different decades. Sanders won in 1982, 1999 and 2001.


2021: Ty Majeski dominates for his record-setting fourth Rattler 250 win. We know nothing is easy in racing, but Majeski sure seems to make it look easy on the Rattler. On this day, he led 239 of the 252 laps and held off Stephen Nasse for the win.

1975: Pete Hamilton wins the Rattler event just a few months removed from his Snowball Derby win in 1974. We assume that he was in the same car, which would later have the rear-end put into Ronnie Sanders' car for the 1978 Derby win.

1974: Phil Wendt and Dennis Rewins get credit for winning the first two Rattler events in twin races back in 1974 at South Alabama Speedway.