Upcoming Events on

RATV white
Full Schedule

Layne Riggs, Caden Kvapil Score Mid-Week Victories at Caraway

Wednesday night at Caraway Speedway was a full circle moment for Layne Riggs.


hero image for Layne Riggs, Caden Kvapil Score Mid-Week Victories at Caraway

Editor's Note: Layne Riggs has been disqualified from the CARS Tour event at Caraway Speedway following post-race technical inspection, and Jared Fryar has been declared the winner. For more information, click here.

ASHEBORO, N.C. – Wednesday night at Caraway Speedway was a full circle moment for Layne Riggs.

Over two decades after DeLana Harvick’s father John Paul Linville gave Layne’s father Scott his first major opportunity in the USAR Hooters Late Model Series, the younger Riggs made a statement in his first start with Kevin Harvick Inc.’s new Late Model Stock program by winning the CARS Tour 265.

Layne had previously won six times in the LMSC Tour prior to Wednesday evening, but his triumph at Caraway proved to be the most significant as he continues to battle his way towards NASCAR’s premier divisions.

The biggest challenge Layne faced during the night came in the form of defending LMSC Tour champion Carson Kvapil, who led most of the CARS Tour 265 after passing polesitter Chase Burrow. Once Layne dispatched Kvapil shortly after the halfway point, nothing stood in the way of earning a popular victory amongst the Caraway crowd.

Expectations were high for Layne entering what was initially a one-race deal for him with KHI. Although his future with the organization is currently unknown, Layne showcased his talent to the entire motorsports industry on Wednesday and will look to carry the momentum over from Caraway into the rest of his planned LMSC Tour and NASCAR starts.

The 100-lap Pro Late Model Tour feature was dominated by Caden Kvapil. After passing polesitter Connor Zilisch early, Caden was tasked with fending off Katie Hettinger during the final 50 laps to score his first victory on the 2023 season.

Caden began his debut PLM Tour campaign last year by winning at Caraway with a late pass on Luke Fenhaus, who was driving for Caden’s current team in Highlands Motorsports. Now with a victory under his belt this year, Caden will look to make a push against Hettinger for his first PLM Tour title.

There will be a month-long break for the CARS LMSC Tour before they tackle the prestigious Throwback 276 at Hickory Motor Speedway on July 29. For the CARS PLM Tour, they will be back in action on July 8 at Wake County Speedway, which will be streamed live on FloRacing.

For more information on the CARS Late Model Stock Tour and the CARS Pro Late Model Tour, visit www.carsracingtour.com. Be sure to stay active and social with the tour by liking “CARS Tour” on Facebook, following @CARSTour on Twitter and scrolling through photos on Instagram cars_tour.

Additional series information can be obtained by calling the CARS Tour series office, located in Mooresville, NC, at 704.662.9212.

-CARS Tour Press Release
-Photo credit: Will Bellamy/Racing America

LMSC Results:

  1. 62 Layne Riggs
  2. 14 Jared Fryar
  3. 24 Mason Diaz
  4. 8 Carson Kvapil
  5. 10 Kaden Honeycutt
  6. 6 Bobby McCarty
  7. 03 Brenden Queen
  8. 5 Kyle Larson
  9. 67 Cameron Bolin
  10. 81 Mini Tyrrell
  11. 1 Andrew Grady
  12. 21 Lanie Buice
  13. 22 Landon Huffman
  14. 77 Connor Hall
  15. 95 Jacob Heafner
  16. 15 Ryan Millington
  17. 57 Connor Zilisch
  18. 2 Brandon Pierce
  19. 43 William Sawalich
  20. 15C Logan Clark -1
  21. 42 Carson Brown -1
  22. 97A Jason Kitzmiller – OUT
  23. 8B Chase Burrow -15
  24. 77W Trevor Ward – OUT
  25. 45 Matt Gould – OUT
  26. 04 Ronnie Bassett Jr. – OUT
  27. 16 Chad McCumbee – OUT
  28. 18 Jason York – OUT
  29. 5B Bryant Barnhill – OUT
  30. 7 Dylan Ward – OUT
  31. 19 Jeremy Mayfield – OUT

PLM Results:

  1. 96 Caden Kvapil
  2. 81 Katie Hettinger
  3. 15W Tate Fogleman
  4. 28 Cole Butcher
  5. 4 Justin Hicks
  6. 25 Connor Zilisch
  7. 26 Dawson Sutton
  8. 7 Tristan McKee
  9. 9 Ashton Higgins
  10. 77 Logan Jones
  11. 03 Kyle Campbell
  12. 15 Brett Suggs
  13. 43H Joshua Horniman
  14. 8 Rusty Skewes
  15. 6 George Phillips – OUT
  16. 13 Austin MacDonald – OUT
  17. 96B Justice Calabro – OUT