Late Surge Propels Dylan Newsome to First Late Model Victory

Division rookie holds off veteran Rusty Daniels to steal opener at Goodyear All American Speedway


hero image for Late Surge Propels Dylan Newsome to First Late Model Victory

JACKSONVILLE, NC – Dylan Newsome saved his best for last in Saturday’s season opener at Goodyear All American Speedway with a late race pass for the lead and the win in the Late Model feature.

After losing some ground in the early laps, Newsome methodically raced his way back to the front, passing Michael O’Brien shortly past halfway. With 15 laps to go, the Goldsboro driver had run down former track champion Rusty Daniels and surged past him to take the victory – his first in a Late Model.

“I honestly can’t believe it,” Newsome said in victory lane. “I never thought we would have made it here. This is really awesome. I can’t thank my friends and family enough for getting me here. We work really hard on this racecar to get it done.”

Newsome began his racing career in 2017, competing in a Mini Stock at tracks across the Carolinas and finding immediate success. That success followed him into the Charger division, where he picked up wins at multiple different tracks. Newsome recently made the jump to a Late Model, hoping to gain experience and win races. After a strong practice earlier in the week, Newsome was confident he’d have a good car. Victory, however, surpassed his expectations.

“We did some testing and came out here and thought we had a good car,” Newsome continued. “I really didn’t know if we would’ve won but we for sure brought a great car. Wendell Davis always provides us with something great. The man’s just unbelievable. Rusty, man, he’s a proven winner here and it feels great racing him clean and getting past him.”

Daniels settled for a runner-up finish while O’Brien, Gerald Benton and Gator Williams rounded out the top-five.

Matt Brought swept a pair of Champ Kart races holding off Lyndsey Bass in both races. Curtis Lanier picked up his first win in a Mini Stock after a thrilling, almost race-long side-by-side battle with Travis Miller. Kevin Benton won in Street Stock, while Eddie Humphrey was victorious again in Bombers and Amanda Danielle finally clinched her first win in Powder Puff competition after three consecutive runner-up finishes.

Goodyear All American Speedway will return to action on Sunday, March 13, 2022 with the Tides of March 125 presented by The Angry Ginger Irish Pub, featuring twin races for Chargers along with Legends, Bandoleros, U-CARs, Bombers, and the Goodyears’ Original Street Legal Spectator Drag Races. The action will get underway at 3pm.

Goodyear All American Speedway is Jacksonville’s Action Attraction featuring racing and other events. For more information about Goodyear All American Speedway, check out the speedway’s website, like/follow “Goodyear All American Speedway” on Facebook, or follow the track on Instagram.

Opening Day 2022 – Unofficial Results
Saturday, March 5, 2022


  1. Eddie Humphrey
  2. Wayne Phillips
  3. Andrew Warner
  4. Ricky Heigl, Jr.
  5. Jeremy Mock
  6. Brian Gooden
  7. Ronnie Kropp
  8. Cornell Williams
  9. Cole Wolbeck
  10. Anberlyn Sloan – DNS

Champ Kart – Race #1

  1. Matt Broughton
  2. Lyndsey Bass
  3. Trey Massengill
  4. Aaron Layden
  5. Brandon Elston
  6. Corey Lucas
  7. Jimmie Whitehurst
  8. Jacob Tingen
  9. Josh Eubanks
  10. Mike Jones
  11. Tyler Foster – DQ

Champ Kart – Race #2

  1. Matt Broughton
  2. Lyndsey Bass
  3. Aaron Layden
  4. Trey Massengill
  5. Brandon Elston
  6. Jimmie Whitehurst
  7. Jacob Tingen
  8. Tyler Foster
  9. Mike Jones
  10. Corey Lucas
  11. Josh Eubanks – DNS

Late Model

  1. Dylan Newsome
  2. Rusty Daniels
  3. Michael O’Brien
  4. Gerald Benton
  5. Gator Williams
  6. Kevin Benton
  7. Daniel Vuncannon – DNS

Mini Stock

  1. Curtis Lanier
  2. Travis Miller
  3. Joe Lanier
  4. Tom Hutson
  5. Joseph Bryant
  6. Josh Eubanks

Powder Puff

  1. Amanda Danielle
  2. Miriah Ray
  3. Christine Marie

Street Stock

  1. Kevin Benton
  2. Steve Wells
  3. Gary Rochelle, Jr.

-Goodyear All American Speedway Release
-Photo credit: Toni Jolly