Upcoming Events on

RATV white
Full Schedule

Landon DeVaughn Takes Mobile PLM Win After Dustin Smith Disqualification

Landon DeVaughn inherited the victory at Mobile International Speedway on Saturday night after Dustin Smith was disqualified in post-race technical inspection.


hero image for Landon DeVaughn Takes Mobile PLM Win After Dustin Smith Disqualification

NOTE: This story has been updated to reflect the results of post-race technical inspection. Dustin Smith was disqualified for an illegal carburetor spacer, with Landon DeVaughn declared the winner.

Landon DeVaughn has been declared the winner of the Pro Late Model feature on Saturday night at Mobile International Speedway following a disqualification of provisional winner Dustin Smith.

Smith's No. 33 entry was disqualified for an illegal carburetor spacer. DeVaughn, who passed Grant Thompson in the closing laps of the race for second place on-track, inherited the victory.

It was already an eventful evening for Smith on the track. While challenging Gavin Graham for the lead on lap 18 of the 40-lap feature, Smith made contact with Graham, triggering a multi-car incident. Graham and Dylan Courtney fell out of the race as a result of the accident, while Smith came to pit road for repairs and started at the rear of the field.

Smith worked his way back through the pack after the ensuing restart, taking the lead from Thompson with two laps to go for the lead.

Landon DeVaughn also passed Thompson in the closing laps to finish second on-track, a pass which proved to determine the eventual winner of the race.

“I can’t thank Augie Grill and Grand American Race Cars enough. I probably wouldn’t be here without them," said DeVaughn. “This is a great race track. I think Eddie [Shoemaker]’s doing a great job, and I’m looking forward to running more races here.”

Thompson had inherited the lead after avoiding the lap 18 incident but came up just a couple of laps shy of scoring the win. Following the disqualification, Thompson finished second.

“We had a pretty good race car,” said Thompson. “Not good enough. I can’t thank all my guys enough, everyone who lays a hand on this thing. It was a good race. I got a little scared when Dustin got into Gavin and almost hit him. Led a lot of laps. Had a pretty good race car, just lost it at the end end.

“I’m very happy with where we came from last race. We’re going to take this thing home and bring it back better next time.”

Greg Fore, Trent Williams and David McDade completed the top five finishers.

Mobile's next race is scheduled for May 25, with Outlaws, Pro Trucks, Pure Stocks, Crown Stocks and Legacy Stocks on the racing card.

-Photo credit: Daniel Vining

MAY 11, 2024

121Landon DeVaughn400.579
200Grant Thompson400.687
377Greg Fore404.680
418Trent Williams409.377
575David McDade382 Laps
64Elliott Massey2020 Laps
770Gavin Graham1723 Laps
822Dylan Courtney1723 Laps
928Chase McLemore1525 Laps
1033Dustin SmithDQ
RA Icon


Sign-up for our free NASCAR & Grassroots racing newsletter...