Johnny Clark Charges Back to Spud Victory Lane

It was deja vu for Johnny Clark in Caribou, Maine.


hero image for Johnny Clark Charges Back to Spud Victory Lane

For Johnny Clark, Sunday at Spud Speedway with the Pro All Stars Series (PASS) Super Late Models was deja vu.

Back in 2010, Clark drove through the field to take the win in the series' first-ever trip to the Caribou, Maine facility. A dozen years - and three of his seven PASS championships - later, Clark provided an encore performance.

Clark won his heat race, started ninth in the main event, and drove his way back to the front for the checkered flag in the Feed the County 150.

The victory conjured memories of 2010 for Clark, who started in the rear of the field that day but claimed the lead by lap 43 and pulled away to victory.

"What an unbelievable car," Clark told Racing America. "It's just like the one we had back in 2010 when we went to victory lane in dominating fashion.

"We started in the back then because we had a flat in the heat race back then. We started in the back today because of the way qualifying works in PASS."

The win also comes as a small bit of redemption for Clark after heartbreak in the most recent, and biggest, PASS race of the year, the Oxford 250.

Clark was in position to claim his second victory in the crown jewel event when contact late with Cole Butcher sent Clark spinning, relegating him to a fourth-place finish.

READ MORE: Cole Butcher Makes Canadian History in Winning Oxford 250

Nothing truly replaces the sting of that loss, but Clark is glad to have a win out of the gate as he and his team carry on with the rest of the 2022 season.

"It doesn't replace it, but it sure helps us move past it."

D.J. Shaw finished second, with Eddie MacDonald rounding out the podium.

Unofficial Results - PASS at Spud Speedway

1. Johnny Clark
2. D.J. Shaw
3. Eddie MacDonald
4. Ryan Kuhn
5. Trevor Sanborn
6. Gabe Brown
7. Rowland Robinson, Jr.
8. Joe Pastore
9. Ben Rowe
10. Scott McDaniel
11. Ben Ashline
12. Wyatt Alexander
13. Jamie Wright
14. Dennis Spencer, Jr.