Upcoming Events on

RATV white
Full Schedule

Cookson Continues Hot Streak at Oxford Plains with PASS Win

Max Cookson has now won three straight Super Late Model races at Oxford Plains Speedway to start the 2023 season.


hero image for Cookson Continues Hot Streak at Oxford Plains with PASS Win

There is no one hotter than Max Cookson right now at Oxford Plains Speedway.

After winning the first two Oxford Championship Series Super Late Model races at the Maine bullring to start the 2023 season, Cookson backed it up by winning the Pro All Stars Series (PASS) Super Late Model 150 Saturday.

This one did not come easily for Cookson, however. He slowly worked his way from ninth to the lead over the first 100 laps before opening a gap on the field, ultimately winning by 2.1 seconds over Brandon Barker and Kyle Desouza.

“I think this is probably one of the best races I’ve ever ran in my career,” said Cookson in victory lane. “I just took care of it and had a game plan from the start of it, just preserved. The top came in here, which was freaking awesome. I love running up there.”

Dating back to the end of the 2022 season, Cookson has now won four consecutive races at Oxford Plains. He will almost certainly be one of the drivers to watch on August 25-27 for the 50th Annual Oxford 250.

“We’ve won four straight here, so we’re definitely on our stride right now. I can’t wait for that one at the end of August.”

Brandon Barker led more than half of the race’s 150 laps, but was still very pleased with a runner-up finish to Cookson on Saturday.

“This is probably the oldest car in the field. We’re getting better every week. We’ve still got a long ways to go to catch that 39.”

Kyle Desouza rounded out the podium finishers, narrowly losing out in a battle with Barker for second.

“Maybe we had something for the 88 [of Barker] if it was longer, but we’re happy with what we’re building here,” said Desouza. “To be on the podium for a PASS race is a pretty big deal for us.

“We’re definitely in the right direction. We struggled in the first two weekly races and worked hard all week. I’m just proud of everybody for giving me this opportunity.”

May 12, 2023

1. Max Cookson
2. Brandon Barker
3. Kyle Desouza
4. Ben Rowe
5. Trevor Sanborn
6. Dave Farrington
7. D.J. Shaw
8. Jeremie Whorff
9. Gabe Brown
10. Shawn Knight
11. Joey Doiron
12. Scott McDaniel
13. Johnny Clark
14. Dennis Spencer
15. Dan Winter
16. Garrett Lamb
17. Ryan Robbins
18. Mike Rowe
19. Jimmy Renfrew, Jr.
20. Joey Patore
21. Kate Re
22. Tracy Gordon
23. Andy Shaw
24. Alan Tardiff
25. Tim Brackett