Upcoming Events on

RATV white
Full Schedule

10 Things to Know About the 49th Oxford 250

Looking ahead to this weekend's Super Late Model crown jewel.


hero image for 10 Things to Know About the 49th Oxford 250

Oxford 250 weekend is finally upon us. Before the crown jewel event at Oxford Plains Speedway (ME) takes the green flag, here are 10 Things to Know about the 49th Annual Oxford 250.

- Big shoutout to the track and partners that helped sell all the laps to the Oxford 250 this year. Each lap will be worth at least $100 to the leader. A driver could win $25,000 in lap money on top of the $25,000 for the first-place prize. A big payday is coming to one driver.

READ MORE: Lap Sponsorships Sold Out for Oxford 250

- Ralph Nason is the all-time lap leader in the Oxford 250. Nason won three times in a row in the late 90s and led 796 laps in his career. Jeff Taylor has led 442 laps despite no wins in the race. Ben Rowe is the highest active winning driver with 352. A total of 40 different drivers have at least 100 laps in the Oxford 250.

THE THIRD TURN: Oxford 250 Central

- RacingAmerica.TV will be the home to live flag-to-flag coverage of the Oxford 250 this weekend. They will have coverage on Saturday and Sunday of Oxford 250 weekend.

READ MORE: How to Watch the Oxford 250 on Racing America

- The entry list is looking to be around 70 for the Oxford 250 on Sunday. There could always be additional entries on race day morning.

READ MORE: Nearly 70 Entries Filed for 49th Oxford 250

- We talk about having success in heat races, but the winner of the race has come from outside the top 20 in six of the last eight Oxford 250 wins. In 2005, Mike Rowe won the last chance race and later that night he won the Oxford 250 for the third time in his career.

- DJ Shaw, Jimmy Hebert and Jason Corliss are just a few of the drivers who are looking to run the ACT Late Model race and the Oxford 250 the next day. We expect there could be more as we close in on race day.

READ MORE: American-Canadian Tour Returns to Oxford Plains Speedway

- There are 12 former Oxford 250 winners on the entry list for the weekend. They include Ben Rowe, Bubba Pollard, Curtis Gerry, Johnny Clark, Eddie MacDonald, Joey Polewarczyk, Travis Benjamin, Gary Drew, Jeremie Whorff, Cassius Clark, Scott Robbins and Glen Luce. Between these drivers, there are 16 total Oxford 250 wins.

- Some drivers will be making historic starts at the 250 this weekend. Ben Rowe will make his 25th start, DJ Shaw his 10th and Tracy Gordon, Scott Robbins and Jeff Taylor will all be going for their 20th start in the historic race. Mike Rowe would have been scheduled to make his 40th run in the 250, but a medical condition kept him out this year, hopefully he can make the historic run next year at the 50th running.

READ MORE: Ben Rowe Driving Father's Car in 49th Oxford 250

- Being the king of the heat races can get you in the show, and it can keep you with the leaders all day. Eddie MacDonald has won six heat races and DJ Shaw has four heat wins in recent years. Cassius Clark also has four wins, but he came from the Consi race in 2021 to win the 250.

- The Oxford 250 will be 250 green-flag laps. Cautions will not count towards the full distance.

Oxford Plains Speedway Logo

Watch on RacingAmerica.TV

April 27-28: Opening Weekend Doubleheader at Oxford Plains