10 Things to Know: 20th Thanksgiving Classic

One of the historic Crown Jewels of Late Model Stock Car racing takes the track Sunday.


hero image for 10 Things to Know: 20th Thanksgiving Classic

Sunday marks the 20th chapter in one of the longest running Late Model Stock Car events, the Thanksgiving Classic at Southern National Motorsports Park.

1 - This will be the 20th running of the Thanksgiving Classic.

2 - The 150-lap Late Model Stock race will be broken down into three segments. There will be five minute segment breaks between the races. There will be bonus money available to a driver if they can win multiple segments.

READ MORE: The Thanksgiving Classic Has a Unique Purse Structure

3 - NASCAR Cup Series Crew Chief Matt McCall, NASCAR Cup driver Denny Hamlin and Jamey Caudill are the only drivers to have two wins in this race. Caudill and McCall each went back-to-back while Denny Hamlin won in 2007 and 2003.

Gallery image 0.

Matt McCall in victory lane following the 2018 running of the Thanksgiving Classic at Southern National.

4 - The first running of this race was back in 1998 when it was known as the Winston Turkey 200. Late Model Stock star Philip Morris won the event over Randy Renfrow and Deac McCaskill.

5 - Late Model Stocks will go 150 laps on Sunday afternoon for the main part of the Thanksgiving All-Star Classic. In the past the race has been up to 300 laps. The Limited Late Models will go 75 laps.

6 - For Josh Berry this is likely his final start in the JR Motorsports Late Model for a little while. Berry has never won this race, his only start resulted in a 24th-place finish in 2016.

READ MORE: Thanksgiving Classic is Josh Berry's Short Track Swansong

7 - Despite only one win in the race Lee Pulliam, has led six times for 360 laps over the years. Pulliam was second at the last running in 2020. His lone win came in 2015, when he led 127 laps to pocket the victory.

8 - McDonalds should have sponsored the 2018 running of this race as Matt McCall beat out Deac McCaskill, Bradley McCaskill and Bobby McCarty. No, it’s not a tongue twister, it’s the finishing order.

9 - The weather really put a twist on the history of this race. The last time it was run was in the spring of 2020, which was a makeup for the 2019 running. Bobby McCarty scored the win over Lee Pulliam.

10 - Racing America will be the place to watch the race live if you can’t get to Eastern North Carolina for this event. You can see the action live on Speed51.TV.


Stream Live on 11/26 & 11/27 Exclusively on Speed51.TV

The Thanksgiving Classic at Southern National (NC), the Bill Bigley Sr. Memorial at 4-17 (FL) & the World Crown 4-Cylinder Nationals at Cherokee (SC)