10 Things to Know: 2022 Blizzard Series at Five Flags

The Road to the 55th Annual Snowball Derby begins Friday night.


hero image for 10 Things to Know: 2022 Blizzard Series at Five Flags

- You can’t mention Five Flags Speedway (FL) and not mention Bubba Pollard, who has 23 career Blizzard Series wins and at least one victory a year for 14 consecutive years. Pollard has also won the pole for Blizzard events 22 times.

- Of course, the Southern Super Series / Blizzard Series will have 100 lap races on both Friday and Saturday night, but the Friday card will also feature the Pro Trucks and Pure Stocks. Saturday will have the Outlaws and the Sportsman.

- The weekend will feature a rematch of the Snowball Derby as Derek Thorn will be in town from California looking to get a Blizzard win, while Chandler Smith will make his first trip back to Five Flags since his Snowball Derby win last December.

READ MORE: Snowball Derby Rematch Set For Pensacola Twin 100s

- 27 cars are on the pre-race entry list with several heavy hitters like Derek Thorn, Jake Garcia, Chandler Smith, Bubba Pollard, Stephen Nasse, Cole Butcher, Matt Craig and several others. We can imagine a few others will make the trip to Pensacola to push the entry list to 30.

- A lot of talk has been made about the dominance of Bubba Pollard at Five Flags Speedway (FL) in the Blizzard Series, but if you look at the track points championship it shows a different story. There have been four different champions in the Blizzard Series in the last four seasons.

- If you are looking for someone to give a little surprise, then maybe Kyle Plott is where you need to look. Plott has five top-five runs in the Blizzard Series in the last four years. Look for Plott to be in the mix on opening night.

- The doubleheader at Five Flags Speedway dates back into the 1980s. It would not be uncommon for the track to run on Sunday after the previous Friday was washed out. Five Flags had always been a doubleheader destination with Mobile International Speedway (AL) as well. It’s nice to see the tradition continue as drivers get two cracks at the Pensacola backdrop.

READ MORE: SRX Spot On The Line at PepperJack Kennels Twins at Five Flags

- Five Flags Speedway is the home of the Snowball Derby, the most prestigious Super Late Model race in the country. The Blizzard Series races are a tune-up to the season ending event.

- After two point races, Bubba Pollard leads the standings with a win at Crisp Motorsports Park and a second-place finish at the Rattler 250. Pollard is a former series champion and in recent years could have won another with some near misses.

- Watch all the action live on Racing America this weekend - Both days and all the action will be available for monthly subscribers.

Past Blizzard Champions

2021 Jake Garcia
2020 Bubba Pollard
2019 Giovanni Bromante
2018 Casey Roderick
2017 Bubba Pollard
2016 Casey Roderick
2015 Casey Roderick
2014 Bubba Pollard
2013 Daniel Hemric
2012 Bubba Pollard
2011 Augie Grill
2010 Chase Elliott
2009 Johanna Long
2008 Josh Hamner
2007 Scott Carlson
2006 Dave Mader, III
2005 Eddie Mercer