Matthew Nance Takes Blue Ridge Outlaw Win At Lake View Opener

Nance took the big win in the J.D. Pridgen Memorial


hero image for Matthew Nance Takes Blue Ridge Outlaw Win At Lake View Opener

LAKE VIEW, SC (April 2) – Matthew Nance was able to grab the lead in lapped traffic and led the rest of the way to take the win at Lake View Motor Speedway in the 3rd Annual JD Pridgen Memorial. It was Nance’s first Blue Ridge Outlaw Late Model win at Lake View since 2019.

Nance was the fastest in qualifying and after the heat races, would start outside of Daniel Tucker on the front row for the 40-lap event. Tucker took the lead on the initial start before the race was slowed by a first lap caution for a crash between Blake Sanderson and Elliott Sanders on the front stretch.

Tucker continued to lead over Nance when the caution waved near the halfway mark for a spin in turn two by Matt Pridgen, which also collected Brad Basey. Back under green, Tucker and Nance continued on a torrid pace as they closed in on slower traffic. Unfortunately for Tucker, he would be trapped behind the slower car of Basey, allowing Nance to take the lead on the front stretch with 13 laps to go. Nance led the rest of the way for the win over Christian Thomas, Tucker, Scott Shirey, and Johnny Pridgen. Rounding out the top 10 were Chuck Smith, Mark Dysart, Dylan Wilson, Woody Cromartie, and Dylan Watson.

Case Daniels started on the pole and held off a furious challenge in the early going from Jonathan Ward to capture the 602 Open Wheel Modified win. The only caution of the night waved with five laps to go when Richard Seals spun exiting turn four. Following Daniels and Ward at the finish were Donovan Jackson, Jonathan Hucks, and Tyler Love.

Daryl Moran started from the pole and led every lap for the Street Stock win. Brian Doyle was eliminated in a crash entering turn three on lap two. While Moran was dominating, the race for second was a furious one between Mike Manes, Joey Wilkes, and Michael Butler, the defending track champion. Following Moran at the checkered flag were Wilkes, Butler, Tyler Doyle, and Manes.

Walterboro, SC’s Ian Padgett jumped out front from the pole to lead every lap in winning the Stock V8 feature. Multi-time 2021 winner, Ed Mason, was second while Rocky Gasque, Jaden Locklear, and Blaise Bryant.

Eddie McGrew made the trip from Upstate South Carolina count as he cruised to his first SCDRA Sport Compact. Many drivers were in attendance as they prepared for the $5,000 to win Beach Bash for the Sport Compacts on April 23. Following McGrew at the finish were two-time track champion, Kyle Jenks, along with Trent Herring, Cale Deese, and Dalton Hodge.

Jeremy Cumbee prevailed in a great battle with Ron Pope for the Bell & Bell Vintage car win in Pro Modifieds. Mark Brown was the Sportsman winner, Korey Nikolov was the winner in 6-Cylinders, and Bobby Kellam in Seniors. Tonya Jordan won the Powder Puff race over Lindsey Richardson.

The next event at Lake View Motor Speedway will be on Saturday night, April 9th, when the Ultimate Super Late Models and Carolina Outlaw Super Street return, along with racing in support classes. For more information, please “Like” Lake View Motor Speedway on Facebook, follow @LakeViewDirt on Twitter or by visiting